Free Wifi in Disney - does it work for Canadians?

Discussion in 'Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board' started by 4orm, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. Goofy's apprentice

    Goofy's apprentice DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    784
    One question....


    When they say there is wifi at EPCOT do they mean wifi everywhere or that there are certain 'hotspots'?
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. twokids0204

    twokids0204 DIS Dad #561

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,554
    I used Wifi at Epcot just about everywhere...

    In fact, I can't think of anywhere it didn't work...

    I was even getting strong signals down the tunnel in Soain'
     
  4. twokids0204

    twokids0204 DIS Dad #561

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,554
  5. MedicGoofy

    MedicGoofy DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    940

    The thing is, they are just advertising that they now have it. They haven't advertised that they have the strongest signal, or that it will be uninterupted. they have free wifi. Which is something they have not had before. you've always had to pay for a connection.

    and as the poster just prior to this states, if it weren't for so many people 'needing' to be on such useless forums letting the world know what they are eating or doing at any given moment, maybe the signal wouldn't be so bad.

    For those that 'have' to have internet for work, then just pay for connection. If you can not go on vacation, to actually get away from work, which is usually why people go on vacation, then don't rely on wifi, its never a gaurantee. Doesn't matter where you are. Not just Disney. Ive had issues with it in lots of places. If you need internet, then pay for it. You won't have a problem then.

    And if your friend spent an hour of her time waiting for the wifi to work, then she's a fool for doing so. She could have gone to a desk, guest services, and spent a 1/4 of the time. What a waste.
     
  6. NancyK

    NancyK DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,103
    I took my tablet to AKV - Kidani Village in January and Jambo House a couple of weeks ago - and the in-room internet wasn't good at all. It was kind of frustrating. There were two different Disney guest wifi connections - one for in-room, and a different one for the lobby.
    When I really wanted to be online, I headed to the lobby where it worked perfectly.
     
  7. Polydweller

    Polydweller DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,695
    I'm using now at the Poly and it has been very good. No problems at all connecting and the speed has been great. Used in MK and Epcot the last couple of days and have connected quickly and done everything I want. The speed has been fine.

    You do have to make sure you are logged in though. You can be seeing full bar signal but not be able to surf. That's because on first connection it gives you an address but no DNS info. It sends the DNS address after you acknowledge the login screen.

    Connect and login and it's fine.
     

Share This Page