DVC Rentals - what is it?

MyPrince&Princess

Mouseketeer
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie and was wondering how the DVC points rental works. I need it explained to me in the most BASIC terms - please because I just can't seem to figure it out!!:worship:

I've been to Disney many, many times, and never stayed in the "World" bc it just seems cost prohibitive. Now, I'm reading that maybe, just maybe, we can swing it without having to take out a second mortgage!

If you are able to and willing, I'd love some comparisons of what the rack rate is and what you've paid, for which resort, and what time of year....

I'm still dreaming of Disney at Christmas.....:santa: and would really LOVE to make that happen for my family (read "ME"!!!).
thanks!
MP&P

This is apt to be long. And you'll probably end up with several variations, from various people.

Disney Vacation Club (DVC) is a subsidiary company of Disney. (The actual name of the subsidiary may be different; I don't have access to my legal documents and it's been 16 years since I bought in and I just don't think about it that much.) It's a timeshare, which means that people technically "own" some part of the resort they buy into (their 'home resort'.) I once figured I might own about a one square foot area in one bathroom, somewhere in the Boardwalk Villas resort. :-)