Door Decorating Show - Question About Cricut

mjaclyn

Currently in Wonderland
Hi all! After listening to this week's show about personalizing your Stateroom door I looked up some information about the Cricut. I'm a little confused - what I normally do is buy magnetic paper for my printer, print the image I want and cut it out myself. I LOVE the idea of not having to cut things because I am not very good at it either. However, how do you get actual images instead of just shapes? For instance, one of the cartridges feature Mickey and Friends. So if i wanted an entire Mickey Mouse for my door, does it print the Mickey picture first and then cut it out or do you have to cut everything out in pieces and glue it all together? Lots of things on Mickey are different colors - like red shorts, yellow shoes, black ears, white eyes, etc. Do you have to cut out a different piece for every element on Mickey and then put it all together or does it come out as one piece looking like Mickey Mouse? I hope this makes sense...

I guess the question is.. is the cricut only a cutter or does it print the image as well?

It is not a printer. You can use markers in it but it would just do the outline and other details.

When you want to do Mickey Mouse for example, the different parts are broken down by layer. You would have to cut out each layer in the different colors and put it together. For example you would cut out the eyes and shorts on a black piece of paper. Then assemble all the parts to make a complete Mickey.

We did a Mickey birthday party for my Grandson using the Cricut. We didn't do complete Mickey's but cut out the different parts of him and made banners, had some parts scattered on the table, etc. You could do complete ones very easily, we just didn't do it.

Thanks Kathy!