Digital TV only as of today at the Fort

Discussion in 'Camping at Disney World' started by Bleu Zoo, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. Bleu Zoo

    Bleu Zoo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    The Fort switched over to Direct TV a couple of months ago. Today Direct TV decided to switch to a Digital only feed.:mad: If you have analog TV sets you will need a converter. The one that converts Digital air waves to analog will not work. They have converters at the front desk ( One per site ) on a first come first serve basis. Disney puts the blame on Direct TV for the switch. Wanted to give everyone a heads up that has older TV's to get your converter before you arrive if you want cable TV. Still Love this place
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. bama_ed

    bama_ed New Software Calls For A New Avatar...

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,542
    Bleu Zoo,

    Thanks for the update. Technology marches on. :happytv:

    Bama ED
     
  4. kltigger

    kltigger Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Sorry for this question, but DH is asleep for me to ask.

    How does this work if we have DirectTV in our MH already?

    We normally would use cable at the fort since we cannot pick up satellite because of the trees.
     
  5. Bleu Zoo

    Bleu Zoo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Depending on the age of your TVs.. If you already have new digital ( Flat screen ) TVs you are good to go. (Note some old flat screens are analog ) ..To use your sat TV request a site with less trees. Low numbered 600 loop and high number 900 loop are good bets.
     
  6. kltigger

    kltigger Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Thank you.
     
  7. retired and happy

    retired and happy Auburn-him/Alabama-her

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,210
    Exactly what is being converted using the "Disney" converter? If I have an analog TV, don't I need a converter that converts the supplied digital signal to analog? Isn't that what I bought a couple years ago? Virtually all over-the-air signals are digital, and I use a converter to receive that signal on my analog set. Does Direct TV provide any direct signal other than satellite signal? Either some detail has been left out or this is a bogus report. Any expert out there?
     
  8. Bleu Zoo

    Bleu Zoo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Dear Retired and Happy,
    I am sitting on site 312 typing this report. Your current digital converter that converts digital air wave ( antenna) to analog will not work. Direct TV is NOW the provider for Disney Worlds TV connections. Call 407-824-2727 ex. #2 and ask for your self.. Don't worry be happy :wave2:and be prepared.
     
  9. Bleu Zoo

    Bleu Zoo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Forgot to add that my wife did not feel well today so we stuck around the coach..and the site next door had a howling dog all day..We didn't complain he had a nice tone ..Wrong thread but didn't want to keep that one going.:rotfl2:
     
  10. stpetedisneydad

    stpetedisneydad Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Not knowing a whole lot about this subject but I would assume DirectTV has scrambled their signal so not just anyone can pick it up since they are a pay subscriber which is why just any ol' converter won't work.
     
  11. shinysparklybubbles

    shinysparklybubbles DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,427
    Did you ask the dog for your $100 gift card?!? LOL!

    Hope your wife feels better!
     
  12. 2goofycampers

    2goofycampers Sounds like something a camping trip could cure!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14,205
    Tell DW we hope she feels better "real soon".

    And good call on the "other" thread. :rotfl2:
     
  13. Bleu Zoo

    Bleu Zoo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    You still have to attach your coax cable to their output connection. I works just like any park cable. However it is an digital only signal. The converter they let us use was simple to connect however if you want to keep it it will cost you 125 dollars :confused3 I'm sure camping world and Radio shack will have converters at a much more reasonable price. Thanks everyone for my Wife"s well wishes she feels like new money so off to the parks we go to spend some of it. :yay:
     
  14. wdwrroad

    wdwrroad Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    I think what you would need is a QAM tuner. A google search shows them to be about $100.
     
  15. happycamper47

    happycamper47 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    The new Direct TV line-up was both analog and digital ( most stations were duplicated) in Oct so all they did was drop the analog. Also DISNEY controls the frequency type being rebroadcast not DIRECT TV (talked to a CM (TV/phone/internet) tech while we were there.
     
  16. John VN

    John VN DIS Cast Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    I just hope all the channels finally come in clear.
     
  17. happycamper47

    happycamper47 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    That's how I got to talk to the CM he was trying to find the noise (interference issues) on the cable.
     
  18. Bleu Zoo

    Bleu Zoo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    looks like we paid 125 for our first one..went to check out this morning and return the converter and the checkin/out line was unbelievable .. so thinking back to your post it was only a 25 dollars difference and we could get home earlier. The Fort was as busy as I had ever seen this weekend and this week it will be a mad house...Wish we could have stayed all week. Happy Thanksgiving Everyone ..need to find two more QAM tuners :surfweb:
     
  19. jeepfreak

    jeepfreak Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    I replaced my front tv for a Vizio last year, so I assume that one would work, but left the original analog in the bedroom. So does this mean the bedroom one will not get any channels?
     
  20. Bleu Zoo

    Bleu Zoo Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    That is correct..You get a lot of channels from your antenna's digital converter ( if you have one ) but you don't get channels like ESPN and other normal cable channels
     

Share This Page