Contemplating a solo trip...

Rose DiVerona

Time to be movin' along...
So here's the deal: I adore Disney. I could pretty much spend every vacation there. I graduated college last May and for the past year have been interning in D.C., but that ends mid-May. Then, I'll have a couple months while I look for jobs. I would really like to go to Disney for one big hurrah before I'll have to plan vacations around work leave. I'd also like to go to Universal, because I'm also a huge Harry Potter fan and have yet to visit Wizarding World of HP, despite several trips to Disney since it opened.

But...I can't find anyone who wants to come with. I've never been on vacation solo, and though I know I love Disney enough to enjoy the freedom of doing whatever I want, when I want, I'm worried it won't be as much fun without people to share it with. I just don't want to spend a big sum of money on a vacation that turns out to be lonely (especially since, given my internship status, I'm not exactly rolling in the dough right now).

Anyone had similar concerns? What happened? And were any of you recent college grads/young 20s (just trying to see if age group might play a factor)?

Thanks!

The one question I'm going to pose is, how do you feel doing things by yourself in your everyday life? Do you go to movies / concerts / theatre alone? Do you ever dine out alone? I'm a big ol' introvert who is used to doing things alone and comfortable with it. If that's you, you'll probably be OK. If you are happier and thrive more in the company of others, you might not enjoy a solo trip as much. I know how it is to really really want to make that trip, though, and at some level, you'll never know if you like it until you try.