Considering DVC purchase

biged9973

Earning My Ears
We are planning our first trip to DW in July 2013 and have a 1 bedroom villa booked for 14 days at Wilderness Lodge. I have started looking at purchasing a DVC contract and think that it may be a better way to go for us. After 2 trips of 14 days it would be $1500 a year.

My concern is that I have already purchased airfare for the trip and was wondering what the chances of getting my same reservation when I am finally able to book, thinking end of December before all is said and done.

Thanks in advance and I'm sure this will be one of many questions I'll be posting.

Ed

I'm new to this too but $1,500 in today's maintenance fees would only get you 1 week of points for a 1BR at VWL.

Seems like a huge outlay for a place you've never been to before. Have you considered renting points for this summer's stay? I don't have experience with that but I'm sure others can give you details.

I'd think you'd almost certainly get a reservation for a 1BR at WDW for July 2013 if you close sometime in Dec but I'd recommend you be open to staying at any resort that has an opening. 1BR's are often the last to book at all resorts so VWL may be available but when you're not booking at 11 months then anything can happen. And a longer stay like 2 weeks means you could run into a day or two that is booked up and requires a move or picking a different resort for the entire stay.