• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

confused --which products to use??

debm

<font color=deeppink>Whose goal is to get the WDW
I am very new to scrapbooking and have bought some Creative Memories to get started. I plan on using their books and have their trimmers, etc. BUT is there anything wrong with going to the local scrapbook store to get theme papers, stickers, etc. Someone told me that it is best to use ONLY Creative Memories. I shouldn't mix. I'm not talking about buying Target brand but if I bought something at a good store wouldn't that be OK? Or would there be some reason I shouldn't? Colors wouldn't match etc.

Thanks so much for your opinions and suggestions!!

Hmmm ... was the person who told you to only use CM a CM consultant? Some consultants *will* say that -- but most don't mind at all if you use other things!!

You absolutely CAN use things besides CM!! True, a color of cardstock that you buy at the store won't exactly match a CM piece, but that's the only negative I can see!

There are soooo many wonderful scrappin' supplies out there -- CM has only a tiny portion of what's available!! As long as whatever you use is acid-free and lignin-free, it's safe for your scrapbook!! I started scrapping the "safe" way about 9 years ago -- I found CM shortly after I started and I still use their albums and some of their tools, but I have paper, punches, stickers, and on and on and on from everywhere else!!

Why limit yourself when there's so much fun to be had?? :teeth:

If you'd like to check out a great scrappin' board, just to get an idea of what all's out there, try www.twopeasinabucket.com

I second using products from other sources! It is just so much fun to go and look and use! It is your book and your memories so you need it to reflect your style! Go for it!