Birthday cake from scratch

momz

DIS Veteran
we are celebrating my sons 12th birthday this weekend. I would like to bake him a cake. But I need ideas and advice. I am a novice when it comes to decorating cakes.

I'm sure I can follow a recipe and it will taste good, but I also want it to look fun. I don't have an idea on how to get started.

Please share your successes and failures and any fun cakes you have made.

YouTube will be your best friend!! I always watch YouTube for ideas. If you are looking for a good chocolate recipe look at the back of a Hershey coco box I always use that recipe but I use almond extract instead of vanilla

rattle.jpg

tggt.jpg wedding cake.jpg cake2.jpg cake5.jpg cake 4.jpg

I know Michaels(and probably any craft store that has a baking section) has fun easy cake decorating kits. Pick out the theme you want and it should provide directions and a list of what you need to decorate(if not already provided). I think you still need to bake your own actual cake. I got a great one bowl chocolate cake recipe from allrecipes.com as well that is my go to recipe now.

This is a blog post (mine) regarding a recipe I used and an easy decorating technique. The recipe is for a white cake and it's very, very good. It's based off of a boxed cake mix, but you'd never know. It's that good. There's a good butter cream recipe at the link as well. Typically, I don't pump my blog but the cake and the decorating technique is great for a beginner.

http://allmylooseends.com/2012/06/baby-bees-pretty-little-birthday-cake/

If you're new to baking and frosting cakes, the King Arthur Flour website has great recipes for cakes and frosting, and tips for frosting and decorating your cake like a pro! If you run into trouble or have questions while baking, you can also call their free baker's hotline. It's such an awesome resource, I've called them several times when I've been in a baking jam, and they saved the day! Best of luck and have fun! :sunny: