Appropriate Gratuity for a Massage?

starry_solo

DIS Veteran
I was wondering what the appropriate gratuity is for a massage wherein the massage therapist comes to your home with their own equipment (massage table, sheets, lotions, etc.)

The therapist charges $65 for a 60-minute massage and $95 for a 90-minute massage. I know this is what one expects to pay to a company and the therapist only gets a portion through the company, but am trying to figure out the appropriate gratuity.

Thank you!

I work as a massage therapist and my company charges very similar prices. I typically recieve $20 tip for a one hour and $26 tip for a 90 minute. I am based in a studio, so no need to lug my table and set it up at every house. I would probably add $5-10 to the prices I listed for ths reason (provided I liked the therapist).

Hope this helps

Most spa places would probably add on 18-20% to the price. That is what I would do too.

I tipped my massage therapist the first time I went to her and she told me that was very nice, but totally unnecessary, so I haven't tipped her again.

I have done massage from home as a massage therapist. While a tip is appreciated, it isn't necessary. At a spa, yes, absolutely (18-25% was what I typically received or $15-25 an hour, $25-40 hour and a half).

Even so, my clients were incredibly generous and typically gave me an additional 15-20% on top of my prices I charged at home.

We usually go with 15% of the normal retail price regardless of our final cost if there's a discount. Some do 18-20%, I've always seen 15% for those types of services.

I'd tip the same 20%-ish that I'd tip anywhere else for this service. I'd likely give $15 for the 50 minute massage and $20 for the 90 minute.