Anyone ever use two different airlines for same trip?

imamicki2

Mouseketeer
Having trouble finding good fares and good times for airfare from Philly to Mco. I found I like going down times for southwest and coming home fare for usa300.
My trip is 10-22 to 10-30. How far out should I hold out for a possible DING special?

I guess my question is, are there any problems I am not thinking about if I use two different airlines? I don't see why there should be, but I am not an expert at any of this and all this information is going to make my head explode!
:crazy:

My experience with one way tickets is that I get pulled for extra security screening each time.

My Mom did just this last May. She flew Boston to Orlando on JetBlue. Then returned Orlando into Manchester on Southwest.

Her main reason was that the one way cost on each trip was cheaper. JetBlue and Southwest was each more expensive on the other leg. (if that makes sense)

I really don't see a problems with your scenario. Maybe someone else has more insight...

I've done it a number of time to take advantage of good prices each way. Never had a problem.

imamicki2 said:
I guess my question is, are there any problems I am not thinking about if I use two different airlines?
Traditionally, advance purchase roundtrips on a single airline have been much cheaper that one-way tickets.

However, that's not always the case these days, especially to Florida. Using two promotional one-way fares on two different airlines can be competitive with roundtrip fares on a single airline, and may give you a better choice of flight times.

Wow what a great idea! I never thought of doing this... Maybe I'll try it on my next trip.