Any Canadians own a vacation rental in Orlando?

Skjhjb

DIS Veteran
This "plan" of ours is currently a passing fancy, but something we would eventually like to seriously consider.

We both love HGTV, and have enjoyed the new "vacation home for free" show, which gave us the thought.

Eventually, we want to go south for the winter when we are older (like in 20 more years kind of thing).

But we are seriously considering the idea of buying a rental home in Orlando that we can rent all year to cover/help cover the cost of the mortgage/property management fees/hoa fees/what have you. And use it ourselves in the off season.

Anybody here own such a property?

Any advice/tips? (like run away screaming?)

Being a total novice in this area - I'm assuming the mortgage/financing of such a venture is provided by a Canadian bank?

Thanks!

I sent you a private message with more information, but in short, you can get financing with as little as 20% down. I sell real estate both in Toronto and Florida since I work with many investors and can answer any questions you may have. Thanks.

We did exactly that!

You can get a US mortgage, but it was a pain in the you know what. I'm surprised they didn't ask for a DNA sample :rotfl2:

We ended up taking equity from our home here, and converted it to US funds (this was when the dollar was good) to purchase it "cash"

We rent it out on VRBO to cover our expenses. We use it personally about 3 times per year. We love it and one of the best decisions we have made

We did exactly that!

You can get a US mortgage, but it was a pain in the you know what. I'm surprised they didn't ask for a DNA sample :rotfl2:

We ended up taking equity from our home here, and converted it to US funds (this was when the dollar was good) to purchase it "cash"

We rent it out on VRBO to cover our expenses. We use it personally about 3 times per year. We love it and one of the best decisions we have made