AKV Kidani, TV and Wii question **UPDATED with more info**

Discussion in 'DVC-Mousecellaneous' started by Tara, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Tara

    Tara Bad Influence

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    4,997
    I know there's a a/v box and we'll be able to connect a Wii. But does it take component cables or just RCA? ISTR a photo of the hookups and I think it just takes RCA...anyone know for sure?

    UPDATE:
    The a/v box does have RCA inputs, but the back of the TV has component inputs. We were able hook the Wii up using component cables with no problem.

    (Well, it was extremely hard to see the input colors, so if you don't know what order they should go in, you'll likely need a flashlight to figure it out in the dimly-lit Kidani rooms. Luckily I keep a flashlight in one of my Owner's Lockers. :))
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. Biggreen19

    Biggreen19 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Yes, I believe you are correct. My teenagers had a Wii and x360 with them last year and I think they could connect via RCA only. The adapter box supports HDMI as well.

    All in all, they didn't complain about the picture, I think you should be OK.
     
  4. LisaS

    LisaS DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    10,514
    Here is a photo of the connection box at Kidani:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Tara

    Tara Bad Influence

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    4,997
    Picture isn't the issue so much as the lag time that can happen without component cables on games like Guitar Hero (which I predict we will stay up all night playing. ;))

    I wonder if there are component cables on the back of the TV...
     
  6. PrincessYessenia

    PrincessYessenia DVC Member - AKV

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,975
    Ironically enough we had a GV in AKV back in August and I brought my Wii. We plugged it into the TV with no problem. All the plugs necessary are there. :thumbsup2
     
  7. Tara

    Tara Bad Influence

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 1999
    Messages:
    4,997

    You used component cables (the 5 connection type) and not RCA (the 3 coonection type)?
     

Share This Page