Advice - DVC Resale

tararoo

Earning My Ears
Hello all -

I've been interested in DVC membership for some time, and have finally decided to seriously look into DVC resale.

My husband and I don't have children, so we would only need a deluxe studio, and we're not restricted to school vacations - most likely we'd be traveling during value season. We're only looking to travel to WDW every other year or every 3 years (so would most likely bank points) - so with the research I've done on the point costs at various resorts, we should be all set with 50-75 points per year.

I am seeing some great deals on Hilton Head ownerships, so I was wondering about going in that direction...

I understand that this means to book at any WDW resort we'd be limited to what is available at 7 months out - I am interested in trying any/all of them, so I'm not too concerned about what we may be restricted to (especially during value season) - is there any other disadvantage that as a newbie I am not seeing, to purchasing at a resort we don't actually plan on visiting much? I read that the annual dues are a little higher at HH and VB because of their coastal locations, but that doesn't look to be too much more. Anything else that might be a concern?

I'm actually thinking the 11 month advantage might be helpful if we ever decide to visit HH during the summer months. But being that my husband is not a beach person (sadly!) I'm guessing we'd only visit there once or twice at most.

Your advice is appreciated - don't want to make any regrettable mistakes and end up on a resale board myself.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Only you can determine which direction to go. Do a numbers comparison looking at the next 20years, including buy in, dues with a 4% increase, and trying to figure out which resort may be your favorite.