? about annual passes

omalley1118

DIS Veteran
Hi! I'm new to all of this and trying to get my bearings. We just bought in March. We aer going in Sept and then probably again in May of next year. I would also love to go down for a few days at the Holidays to see the decorations. I'm assuming if you go more than once, it pays to buy an annual pass. Is there any advantage to buying them ahead of time or should we wait until we get there? Also, do they go from when you buy them or when you activate them? Lastly, is there any time of the year when the price goes up for next year to buy them?

OMalley 1118

If you buy them online you will get a voucher in the mail that you redeem when you get down there. It is one year from the time you redeem your voucher. If you buy them at wdw it will be one year from the time you purchase. Someone can correct me if I am wrong, but I believe price adjustments happen usually in August. So I would buy online before August or the price may increase. Hope I helped.

I've read where some people buy several vouchers in advance to avoid the annual price increases (usually in August but could be at any time w/o warning). Apparently the vouchers never expire and since the clock doesn't start ticking on them until you turn them in for the actual AP's they "keep" indefinitely. If you're not going until Sept. there will likely be a price increase before then...so you could order the vouchers now & avoid that possibility.