Trip Insurance

CathieForman

Earning My Ears
I am looking into trip insurance for my upcoming cruise in May and really don't know where to start as I have never purchased it before. DD and I will be cruising on the Dream May 6. What should I be looking for regards to insurance? Do I include air cost, pre cruise hotel and rental car in the total or cruise cost only? My final cruise payment is due next week so I need to get this before I make the payment, correct?

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

Hi!!!! You are on the same cruise my DS and I are on! :banana: Aren't you getting so excited!! I can barely stand it!!!! Anyway I bought my insurance Monday I'm a vet so I used USAA it cost me $39 total and covered everything EXCEPT pre existing conditions. This wasn't a deal breaker for me as we don't have any.
I believe insuremytrip.com is one that many suggest here if USAA is not an option for you!

Include the prepaid, nonrefundable trip costs when figuring the amount of insurance coverage needed. If your hotel and rental car are cancellable, then don't include them. If you want your flights to be covered, you need to include the cost of those. If you or a non-traveling family member has any pre-existing health conditions, you won't get the waiver of pre-existing conditions unless you purchase the insurance from a few companies - such as CSA or HTH Worldwide.

I get my insurance from the Trip Insurance Store (www.tripinsurancestore.com). Their web site has a lot of helpful information.

Wow, you got a great price. I also went to insuremytrip.com. They have many plans. I wound up paying about $185.00 to cover the 5 in our group. I did want pre-existing included. Even though no one in my group has any medical problems, many other family members who will not be with us do. It will not cover you if someone in your family gets ill or dies if they had a pre-exisiting condition if you do not have that coverage.