Transportation from Orlando to Port Canaveral and back

Discussion in 'Transportation' started by nallepuh, Feb 9, 2019.

1. nallepuh

nallepuh Earning My Ears

We are going on a Disney Cruise on Feb 25 but fly in to Orlando on the 23rd and will spend two nights at The Florida Hotel and Conference Center before the cruise. I've been looking into different options for transportation to Port Canaveral and was going to use Tiffany's Town Car which was the cheapest quote. Their quote was $342 including gratuity, from the hotel to Port Canaveral and then back again from Port Canaveral to one of the Universal Hotels on March 1st.

However, I just looked up the cost of using Uber and according to the website it would be $61 from the hotel to Port Canaveral and $100 from Port Canaveral to the Universal hotel. That is less than half the price compared to Tiffany's.

I have never used Uber before, mostly because I'm worried about safety. Then again, when I have used regular taxis in the U.S. they have sometimes been quite scary also so I assume that Uber wouldn't be worse. I have never had any problems with town car services though and that always felt like the safest option. So just seeking some advice here, would it be safe and OK to use an Uber to get to and from Port Canaveral and what would you guys choose?

Also, do you need to tip the Uber driver? If I remember correctly I have read somewhere that you don't tip them? And for Tiffanys Town Car, when it says "$342 including gratuity", does that mean that I don't have to tip any extra at the end of the ride.

It would be nice to save some money on transportation but most importantly is to get to and from Port Canaveral in a safe way and without having to worry about anything.

2. Capt_BJ

Capt_BJ So Many Times