The Accidental Honeymoon - A September 2020 Trip Report - Now With(out) PhotoPass!

butterscotchcollins

Drop Chicken
Things I have never done before this trip report:
  • Actually written a trip report
  • Gotten married
  • Made an ADR
But if ever there was a confluence of serendipitous life events, 2020 seems like a good year for it to happen. So, welcome to the thread! You may have seen me around the DISboards over the past year talking about how we were planning a beautiful wedding in New Orleans this coming November. You may also have seen me posting about training for my first ever Half Marathon, spraining my ankle, running 13.1 miles around my neighborhood anyway after the cancellation of the Star Wars Rival Run weekend, rescheduling that trip for September, and harassing my fiance to book Yacht Club so that for the first time ever I could stay at a Deluxe because we needed some joy in 2020. Well, the wedding got postponed, but the planned September trip stuck, and my sweet fiance and I made the decision to have a Coronalopement and turn our Disney trip into something of a Honeymoon.

Disclaimer, and advanced apologies if this offends anyone: I N-E-V-E-R wanted to have a Disney honeymoon. And I love Disney. To me, a honeymoon should be exotic and romantic and the Jungle Cruise skippers don't exactly scream ROMANCE to me. And above all, a honeymoon should be relaxing, which unless you are a white-water-rapids-level go-with-the-flow kind of person is basically impossible on a Disney vacation (usually, but SPOILER ALERT not this time!). Since we had already planned to take this trip without our families (another first), it seemed like the perfect excuse to celebrate just the two of us and test out our new identities as Mr. & Mrs.