Support Dogs

Rockbro

DIS Veteran
Does anone know of resouces for free support dogs?

FYI: I'm a former cop with PTSD, Anxiety, deprression, and neuoropathy. Anything would help.

Last edited:
Are you looking for an emotional support dog or a trained service animal?

An emotional support dog can be any dog you bond with at the local animal shelter (probably a nominal fee). Note that ESAs do not have the same protections under the law as a service animal, and you may need documentation from a doctor if there is a no-pet rule for with your housing.

A trained service animal may depend on your needs and what duties the dog needs to trained to do. I'm honestly not aware of any organization that provides completely free trained service animals. There may be groups that help with the training or help with financing. Good training can be an extensive process.

Assistance dog of American but there is a 5 or so year wait for a dog

Last edited:
As @lanejudy said, trained service animals cost thousands of dollars but an emotional support animal can be any animal you bond with. Since you do not have a budget, I would suggest an ESA from the shelter.

I live in the suburbs of Philadelphia and there are several dog daycares that offer dog training. I know one daycare that fosters dogs from a shelter and trains them until they are adopted by a family- and then once they are adopted, the family is given a free training session and a free day of daycare. Maybe you could find a similar arrangement near you to get an already trained dog or receive free training. You could also ask any training facility for discounted or donated training.

Service animals are never free. Insurance can cover some of the cost, and other organizations also help to offset the cost. Waiting lists are years long( after the year plus process of qualifying for one)