Savanna View-Is it worth it?

BeccaG

DIS Veteran
Beginning to plan a trip for 2013 and looking at staying at AKV. Tell me about the Savanna view (the good bad and ugly!) :)

What animals do you see?

What is the difference between the views from Jambo and Kidani?

What should I know that I am not asking?

Thanks!

Hi! I am not an expert by any means, but stayed savannah view at Kidani in Feb, and i think it is definitely worth it! Had my morning coffee on the balcony watching zebras, giraffes, and ankole cattle (with the big horns)!:cloud9: However, there is good animal viewing from the lobby and observation areas, so you will see animals even if you decide not to spend the extra points for savannah view.

There are 2 savannahs at Kidani, Pembe and Sunset. Sunset has the animals above, plus I think some smaller gazelles, etc. Pembe does not have giraffes, because their barn is not tall enough! They have some wart hogs and I forget what other animals that are not on sunset. You can make a room request for the savannah you prefer. Sunset is much bigger, so your odds are better if you request it.

If you will not have a car, you might ask to be close to the lobby. The hallways are very long and can be overwhelming when walking in from the bus at the end of a long day. Kidani has parking under the building and you can park near the elevator for your room/section, so doesn't really matter if you will have a car.

DH and I absolutely loved Kidani. We have stayed at BLT, BWV, SS, OKW and now Kidani. We enjoyed each for different reasons but agreed that if we add on, it will be at Kidani! (Currently own BLT). Love the atmosphere and the theming/decor. Cool activities, such as folk tales around the fire in the evening and night vision goggles at the viewing area.......

Have a great time, whatever you decide!

Actually at Kidani we prefer to be about halfway down. While the halls are long, we found it to be quieter and saw more animals away from the lobby.