Question for "Seasoned veterans"

DisneyGirl

DIS Veteran
I have a question for all of you marathon and half-marathon "seasoned veterans"-- training schedules for the 1/2 really don't "start" until about 12 weeks before the race. What are you supposed to do workout wise up until the race week??

I'm not a novice work-outer. I've taken time away from running, and have been doing things like step and spinning. I can still run with no ill-effects, though, and if I substituted running for the other activities, I'd probably be at about 20-25 miles a week (time wise)-- that seems like quite a bit, since the training schedules start out much lower than that-- what do all of you do in the "in-between" times??

Thanks!!!!

Per my coach's suggestion last year--you could work up to a max distance of 3-5 miles in "off" season about 3-4 times per week. "Building" mileage for distance training purposes shouldn't take place until you are safely within a schedule.

Training to train should be building a good base so that when you do start to train you are stressing it at a proper rate if that makes sense. The in between times you are referring to are good times for trying other sports---strenght training (not for a body builder--but focusing on strengthening upper body and legs for running--low weight high reps)--and just having fun in different sports activities. Some of us use the off time to just train for other events such as the Minnie Marathon in May and the DL half in September.