Need advice on painting with sprayer

Cheryllynn74

Less than 2 hours away from the happiest place on
We really need to paint our house. To be budget friendly, we are going to have to do it ourselves. My cousin agreed to do it for free (he lives for free on my property) but he will only do it if he can use a paint sprayer instead of brushes/rollers.

Big Lots has a Ryobi paint sprayer on sale starting Sunday for $50. I asked my cousin about it and turns out he has never used one! My mom says the paint job does not last as long when you use a sprayer. I wouldn't mind paying the $50 if it would really work good. Does anybody have any experience with paint sprayers? Any advice?

Thanks!

I have no experience per se with a sprayer, BUT, we purchased our house last year and we painted/rolled BEFORE we even moved in.....over all the sprayed paint. We use satin latex paint (which wipes clean easily). The sprayed paint is put on VERY thin and almost has a powdery/dry feel and does not wipe easily (i.e. little kiddy fingerprints :)).

If I were spending my time & money (and energy) on painting, I would do it all by hand again. Even though it took us two full weeks to paint the house top to bottom and my entire body ached for months after :)

bumping up to see if anyone else has any tips or experience with this

several years ago we painted the exterior of our 2-story house ourselves to save money. We bought a spayer and it worked great. It took us two days, but if we had painted by hand we might still be there. I was really please at how easy it was UNTIL I had to clean up at night. It was a PAIN to clean, and if you didn't do a good job it would clog up the sprayer and ruin it. I loaned it to some good friends who didn't clean it well I guess, because it didn't work very well after that.

The last time we painted the inside of this house they sprayed it, and I didn't have any complaints at all. It's time to paint again, I certainly don't want to do it by hand!