My WDW Monorail Model

Discussion in 'Disney Collectors Board' started by one11sgt, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. one11sgt

    one11sgt Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    A work in progress....

     
  2. supernova

    supernova DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,974
    Looks good. But I'd hate to have to stand around all day and change the switch for the track. Isn't there something you can pick up that would "Y" out?
     
  3. Avatar

    Advertisement


  4. one11sgt

    one11sgt Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Sure I could, but I wanted to set it up the way it was designed using the switching station. Besides, it make it more fun to play with, otherwise you just stand there looking at it lol.
     
  5. supernova

    supernova DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,974
    And me, I think I'd prefer to just let it run and take in the grand scope rather than get caught up in watching for trains getting caught at the switch.
     
  6. boBQuincy

    boBQuincy <font color=green>I am not carrying three pods<br>

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,908
    I agree, the interaction is part of the fun, like we are operating the monorail system instead of just watching it. Great Layout! :)
     
    one11sgt likes this.
  7. AttorneyinSC

    AttorneyinSC Monorail Playset Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    What motor upgrade are you running?
     
  8. one11sgt

    one11sgt Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    I did not upgrade the motor yet. Im still looking for a service to do it for me. They all seem to have dissolved. In the meantime I have converted the monorail to be powered by a 9Volt battery. It increases the speed but decreases the lenght of time the battery lasts. I can easily convert it back to AA when I want to. If you know anyone who will upgrade the motors for me, please let me know.
     
  9. boBQuincy

    boBQuincy <font color=green>I am not carrying three pods<br>

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,908
    I do motor upgrades although it is usually part of a full radio control package. I use Tamiya race car motors (with upgraded brushes), their Torque Tuned motor works well. I am experimenting with a ProSlot slot car motor that is a high quality unit, it needs some slight modification to work with the lower voltage (it is designed for 12 Volts) but the performance and longevity looks promising.

    The original power switch is marginal and may not last long with a significant power increase, one monorail enthusiast sent me a monorail red with a burned out power switch (which I replace with a solid state version).
     
  10. AttorneyinSC

    AttorneyinSC Monorail Playset Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    I purchased a Tamiya motor as an experiment, but have not yet tried to put it in. I'm somewhat nervous about the soldering, but need to just give it a whirl. I am working on a single track layout, but with a monorail barn with all 12 monorails. I have yet to figure out exactly how to be able to select which monorail I want to run. Bob, I am going to send you an email about the cost of the R/C upgrade and some questions about what you are using for track.
     
  11. one11sgt

    one11sgt Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    How much do you charge Bob? I have 4 trains I'd love to upgrade to a full radio control.
     
  12. one11sgt

    one11sgt Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Saw your pricing. Do you have any videos of how a radio control system works?
     
  13. boBQuincy

    boBQuincy <font color=green>I am not carrying three pods<br>

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,908
    Yep, I have a video of a Disneyland Mark VII conversion on YouTube at:

    The roof beacon goes on, followed by the headlights. The monorail slowly accelerates (under inertia control) then the power is cut when it has made one full loop, decelerating with inertia. This is not full speed, the monorail completes the circle in about 12 seconds at full speed. Note that the rear cab has lights that flash in a warning pattern.

    For more fun but in a smaller scale, here is my N scale monorail:
     
    harlock69 and one11sgt like this.
  14. one11sgt

    one11sgt Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Awesome stuff. Thanks!
     
  15. boBQuincy

    boBQuincy <font color=green>I am not carrying three pods<br>

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,908
    Our Monorail Modelers website has sections on the RC conversion and on our N scale model but the third section is all about information on Disney's model monorails, including a short list of the parts we use for the RC conversion. I encourage others to look at this and to try doing a conversion on their own. I am glad to provide help via email!
     
  16. harlock69

    harlock69 Disney Dad

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Love the layout! One day, I WILL have a Monoroom of my own....:-)
     
  17. Micca

    Micca SAHG: Stay At Home Grandfather

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    27,455
    I salute all who are keeping this hobby alive. Such a cool concept. :earsboy:
     
  18. boBQuincy

    boBQuincy <font color=green>I am not carrying three pods<br>

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,908
    Thanks! I don't know of anyone else who modifies the Disney monorails, all the ones I knew of have quit. It is not much of a money maker, I get emails maybe twice a month and fewer than one out of 10 is serious enough to follow through. Most of what I make from this goes back into parts and research for the next generation, for instance I bought 8 motors before finding one that has a good balance of speed and battery life.

    My upcoming retirement (31 December) will allow me to invest much more time into modifying Disney monorails and working on the N scale versions. Some of the new ideas in development are: a flexible beam switch like the real one, motorized with optional remote control; improved sound with 6-8 selectable audio clips; an N scale Mk 1 that is smaller than the WDW version (will look good on an Olszewski Main Street layout).
     
    one11sgt and Micca like this.
  19. groale

    groale Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Hello! I have been building an elevated monorail to go around my office. It is almost complete with just one more section to be figured out. I have to hang EPCOT from the ceiling to complete the circuit. I have been 3D printing the track connectors so they can also be secured to the wall, and also for the track to travel across the doorway transom. So far it is working great! But in its climb the current motor is struggling a bit and I am looking to install a stronger motor. As awesome as doing all the other mods like lights and upgraded sound and remote, for now I just want to get it running better. Bob can you direct me to your site for motor upgrades as that is next on my list to finish this office project (for now anyway!) Thx!
     
  20. boBQuincy

    boBQuincy <font color=green>I am not carrying three pods<br>

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,908
    A quick question: are you using NiMH batteries?
     
  21. groale

    groale Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    If that means regular Duracell batteries then yes. Should I use something else?
     

Share This Page