Made $140 dollars this morning!

lmountford

Mouseketeer
I'm from the UK and we dont really have 'yard sales' as such very often. However in the last decade or so 'car boot sales' have become really popular. I was up really late last night sorting, pricing and loading the car with our accumulated clutter. I was at the boot sale area at 7.30 am this morning and still had to wait while the organisers checked to see if there was room. It was packed! The sun shone all morning ,which is pretty unusual for the UK
:-) Loads of people turned up to buy and by 1 pm I was £80 richer! Well £70 if you allow for the rent, £4 on some used clothing for DD, then £2 on juice and doughnuts. I know if I was a real budget board expert I would have pre-packed a snack but I'm only a newbie :rolleyes1 I am going to change this tomorrow into dollars for our disney trip in October and that way I know I won't fritter it beforehand. :Pinkbounc :Pinkbounc

Wow! Good for you! My friend and I contemplated having a yard sale in September (after cancelling original plans for one in May)... but as the time approaches I am losing my enthusiasm. But maybe I just need to think about the $$ ! Good job!...........P

Sounds like what we call a flea market...packing up the car and taking it to a central location, rent space and sell your unwanted wares. Great job on the sales and good for you converting to USD before you're tempted to spend for something else.

Great job! I saw them do a car boot sale on that UK show like Clean Sweep where they go into someones cluttered house and clean it out.

Maggie

p.s. I once did a craft fair. It cost $50 for my table. I made about $25. Plus I purchased 2 baby afghans from the lady who had a table next to me. So, I think you did pretty well!

Great job! I watch alot of BBC America and they show car boot sales all the time on Life Laundry. They look like fun!

very cool!!!