Just got back from Universal Studios Orlando

Status
Not open for further replies.

Disneylover1970

Mouseketeer
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
We just got back from Universal Studios Orlando. We stayed at Cabana Bay. We had a pretty good time, but not interested in going back. It’s definitely not run like Disney. We had the counter service dining plan and refillable Coke mug(at parks). We weren’t told the mugs had to be activated each day even though we had 4 days of refills, there were only 2 restaurants at City Walk that accepted the plan. We were told there was also transportation by water taxi, but we had to go through another resort to access. We had issues along with others getting our tickets to work. The parks had a lot of trash laying around, restrooms were dirty and lacked toilet paper and hand towels(at least women’s). Resort was OK, except our room was never cleaned till after 4pm. Maybe I’m being nit-picky but Disney does set the bar pretty high
 

crazylady

DIS Veteran
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
I agree with you on rhe food plan. When we went, it seemed like none of the good restaurants were on it. I'm so glad I talked my husband out of it!
 
  • crabbymom

    Slythermom to 2 'claws and a Princess
    Joined
    Nov 28, 2012
    Thank you for your report. I am sorry you had to deal with all of those things. We were at Cabana Bay from May 6-10 and while we did not get the meal plan (I don't think anyone's meal plan is worth it), we did not have any of the other issues you spoke of. When we purchased the cups, our guy told us about re-activation and where to get it done. Everyone explained the transportation whenever we asked, but that may be because we told them that we were going to visit all the other resorts. Our tickets worked perfectly, and in fact we upgraded to AP's because we are certainly going back. I did not notice any trash, but I may have just been oblivious and every restroom I went into was clean and stocked. Our rooms were cleaned usually by 9am. Again, I am sorry that it did not live up to your expectations, I hope that someday you might give it another try!
     

    Disneylover1970

    Mouseketeer
    Joined
    Jan 5, 2018
    Thank you for your report. I am sorry you had to deal with all of those things. We were at Cabana Bay from May 6-10 and while we did not get the meal plan (I don't think anyone's meal plan is worth it), we did not have any of the other issues you spoke of. When we purchased the cups, our guy told us about re-activation and where to get it done. Everyone explained the transportation whenever we asked, but that may be because we told them that we were going to visit all the other resorts. Our tickets worked perfectly, and in fact we upgraded to AP's because we are certainly going back. I did not notice any trash, but I may have just been oblivious and every restroom I went into was clean and stocked. Our rooms were cleaned usually by 9am. Again, I am sorry that it did not live up to your expectations, I hope that someday you might give it another try!
    We were there May 7-11. Definitely sounds like you had a more positive experience than we did. We won’t be going back that’s for sure.
     

    schumigirl

    It's a bit of a roodie doodie word for lady parts
    Joined
    May 15, 2007
    Shame you had such a bad experience.

    We are here now and arrived the 11th, parks are immaculately clean.......no trash laying around and never had a problem with toilet rolls or hand towels!! And I go a lot! Bathrooms are constantly being cleaned and every bathroom I’ve gone in there’s an attendant.

    What did they say when you complained??

    Our suite is cleaned every morning by 9am, this morning we went for breakfast at 8 and came back up at 8.30 and the suite had been cleaned. I suppose someone has to be last.

    You stayed at Cabana Bay? The info is there to see there is no water taxi........they run a pretty good bus service according to many who stay there. Sure, you can walk the very short walk to Sapphire........

    I’m sure every park has issues at times.........I remember the bathrooms in MK many years ago overflowing with trash and rubbish.......aren’t people messy at times!!!

    As I said we are here now and experiencing none of the issues you have.........guess they cleaned up.

    Sorry you had such a miserable time, but at least you know you won’t go back. I know how you feel.......we won’t set foot in Disney or Seaworld.........
     
  • EveDallas

    Always keep fighting
    Joined
    Aug 21, 2008
    We just got back from Universal Studios Orlando. We stayed at Cabana Bay. We had a pretty good time, but not interested in going back. It’s definitely not run like Disney. We had the counter service dining plan and refillable Coke mug(at parks). We weren’t told the mugs had to be activated each day even though we had 4 days of refills, there were only 2 restaurants at City Walk that accepted the plan. We were told there was also transportation by water taxi, but we had to go through another resort to access. We had issues along with others getting our tickets to work. The parks had a lot of trash laying around, restrooms were dirty and lacked toilet paper and hand towels(at least women’s). Resort was OK, except our room was never cleaned till after 4pm. Maybe I’m being nit-picky but Disney does set the bar pretty high
    Did you do any research on Universal at all before going? It really doesn't sound like it. We were there two weeks ago and we didn't see any of the things that you reported. Sorry you had a bad time. As for WDW setting the bar, I strongly disagree.
     

    EveDallas

    Always keep fighting
    Joined
    Aug 21, 2008
    Shame you had such a bad experience.

    We are here now and arrived the 11th, parks are immaculately clean.......no trash laying around and never had a problem with toilet rolls or hand towels!! And I go a lot! Bathrooms are constantly being cleaned and every bathroom I’ve gone in there’s an attendant.

    What did they say when you complained??

    Our suite is cleaned every morning by 9am, this morning we went for breakfast at 8 and came back up at 8.30 and the suite had been cleaned. I suppose someone has to be last.

    You stayed at Cabana Bay? The info is there to see there is no water taxi........they run a pretty good bus service according to many who stay there. Sure, you can walk the very short walk to Sapphire........

    I’m sure every park has issues at times.........I remember the bathrooms in MK many years ago overflowing with trash and rubbish.......aren’t people messy at times!!!

    As I said we are here now and experiencing none of the issues you have.........guess they cleaned up.

    Sorry you had such a miserable time, but at least you know you won’t go back. I know how you feel.......we won’t set foot in Disney or Seaworld.........
    We were there the week before the OP and everything was perfectly clean as usual. I guess the OP went at just the wrong time. Agreed on Disney! I would like to try Busch Gardens sometime though...
     
    Joined
    Oct 23, 2015
    The parks had a lot of trash laying around, restrooms were dirty and lacked toilet paper and hand towels(at least women’s).
    I swear this is a common complaint against Disney. Couldn't tell you how many times in various threads in various times of the year since I joined have I seen the 'trash all over, restroom icky' comment....against Disney.

    Plenty of people however have also said that no trash/restroom issues arose on their Disney trip just like people will have for Universal trips.

    We were told there was also transportation by water taxi, but we had to go through another resort to access.
    Per Universal's website under Places to Stay there is a spot to compare hotels. If you go to that you'll see that for what Universal now calls Prime Value category that includes Cabana Bay where you stayed that a water taxi is not available:

    upload_2018-5-15_19-6-27.png
    upload_2018-5-15_19-6-52.png



    We weren’t told the mugs had to be activated each day even though we had 4 days of refills,
    I haven't gotten the Disney Dining Plan but with Universal it's only valid for each day you purchase it for QS Dining Plan. You can purchase Universal's QS Dining Plan or QS+Souvenir Cup at any point in your vacation.

    In a nutshell their Dining Plans have different rules. Unfortunately you went in with the assumption that it would be just like Disney.

    there were only 2 restaurants at City Walk that accepted the plan.
    Per Universal's website under Packages & Tickets there's a spot for Dining Plans and then this will come up which shows you all the restaurants that take the Dining Plan and it's separated by both Table Service/Quick Service and location:
    upload_2018-5-15_18-49-46.png

    -------------------------------
    I'm sorry you had a bad trip. No place is for everyone and it sure seems like both places have things not to everyone's standards/desires.

    I do have a question though--seems a lot of your comments start with "we were/weren't told". I'm curious-did you happen to look up about Universal before going?
     

    Disneylover1970

    Mouseketeer
    Joined
    Jan 5, 2018
    I posted this as a report of our trip. We were told at Cabana that the water taxi was an option for transportation, just walk across the street, to Shapphire Falls. The promotion we had was a 4 day dining plan and 4 day refillable mug. I did some research before. I understand people have bad experiences at Disney. This was just experience
     
    Last edited:
  • Antaniasmom

    DISNEY FANATIC !!!
    Joined
    Jun 3, 2017
    TBH... I'm not a huge US fan either. We took at 3 day trip there 2 yrs back and while we had fun, I sit and think...how are their tickets almost as much as Disney??? I agree with the cleanliness factor, the lack of restaurants (I spent $35 at a glorified Burger King on CityWalk...ugh) and a lot of the rides start to feel the same. Don't tell DH, but we (DD and I) would take WDW any day over US
     
    Joined
    Oct 23, 2015
    I posted this as a report of our trip. We were told at Cabana that the water taxi was an option. The promotion we have was a 4 day dining plan and 4 day refillable mug
    I'm not getting the we were told part. I guess that means you didn't quite look at Universal much. There is a water taxi available but it is not a benefit of directly staying at Cabana Bay. Cabana Bay does however have a shuttle bus as a benefit of directly staying at Cabana Bay.

    At least from what I'm understanding from Universal's information the QS Dining Plan is different than the Table Service because you can purchase Universal's QS Dining Plan or QS+Souvenir Cup at any point in your vacation whereas the Table Service can only be pre-purchased. The QS Dining Plan specifically has a limitation listed in its brochure for being valid only for day of purchase. Logisically I understand if they have you activate the souvenir cup each day.
     

    a1tinkfans

    Spreading Some Pixie Dust Today!
    Joined
    Aug 12, 2006
    Thx for posting ur experience Op, and others ... I booked for mid sept, a first visit..looking forward to try something different in Orlando.
     
    Status
    Not open for further replies.

    Connect

    Disney News and Updates

    Daily Updates and News

    UNIVERSAL PODCASTS


    UNIVERSAL ORLANDO VIDEOS


    UNIVERSAL ATTRACTIONS



    Top