Is Riviera part of Disney Vacation Club?

zavandor

DIS Veteran
First and foremost: I am not a lawyer, so what follows are just impressions I got reading the Florida statutes. I'm looking forward other people feedback, especially someone with some experience in Florida timeshare laws.

The Florida statutes define a "Vacation Club" this way:

(8) “Vacation club” means a multisite timeshare plan. However, notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the use of the term “vacation club” by a person or entity as part of a company, brand, or product name shall not, in and of itself, subject the person, entity, or product being offered to the provisions of this part unless the product offered otherwise meets the definition of a “multisite timeshare plan” as defined in subsection (4).

[...]

4)“Multisite timeshare plan” means any method, arrangement, or procedure with respect to which a purchaser obtains, by any means, a recurring right to use and occupy accommodations or facilities of more than one component site, only through use of a reservation system, whether or not the purchaser is able to elect to cease participating in the plan. However, the term “multisite timeshare plan” shall not include any method, arrangement, or procedure wherein:
(a) The contractually specified maximum total financial obligation on the purchaser’s part is $3,000 or less, during the entire term of the plan; or