Ireland with a 7 year old. Must do ideas and tips

Carol_

DIS Veteran
One of us has been before. One of us has not. What’s great for a 7 year old in Ireland? What should we certainly avoid?
Thanks in advance.

Where are you Travelling from AND where are you Travelling to ?

With or without a car ?

I studied abroad in Ireland (UC Cork) back in the early 2000s, and played the tour guide for my mother and her friend when they came to visit. I now have two children of my own that hope to take to Ireland some day! I think kids would enjoy exploring virtually any castle/ruins, but a couple of my favorites were the Rock of Cashel (legend says St. Patrick himself baptized the local king there) and Cahir Castle (a very cool fortress/castle that has been a film location for several tv series and movies). Dublinia is a cool museum in Dublin focusing on medieval Dublin with an emphasis on Viking influence. Kinsale has two very cool forts to explore (Charles and James) with amazing dining in the local village center. Cobh has a cool museum dedicated to the Titanic. Cork has a really great museum in the old Gaol (jail) where you can explore and take a guided tour. I think most kids would also love exploring the Burren and the Cliffs of Mohr

Where are you Travelling from AND where are you Travelling to ?

With or without a car ?
To: Flying into and out of Dublin.
Haven’t yet decided what comes in between. It’ll be little under a week. Will likely have a car. I’ll expect at least one Guinness. Possibly some Smithwick’s and/or a Harp or something. I’m trying to keep my expectations low. Where do 7 year olds play in Ireland? He likes reading about snakes. I haven’t yet told him about St Peter. (Edit: St Patrick!)

Last edited:

Hi, I live in Ireland but in county Clare.