Holiday trip as a Christmas surprise! Help me plan!

Dizney73

DIS Veteran
DH and I are surprising our kids (DD, 12 and DS 8) with a trip to Disney on Christmas morning! We will be leaving on a 5:45 am flight on December 27 for a 5 nights stay (check out January 1)using our DVC points at AK Villas Jambo House! We are not new to Disney World in any way... but my daughter (12 on trip) mentioned once when seeing a Disney commercial that she always wanted to be surprised with a Disney trip... so I started setting that into motion! I have been to Disney more than I can count and have NEVER been during this crazy time of year but seeing the NYE fireworks is a bucket item! I am a teacher and my husband is a firefighter who was able to get a few extra days off after Christmas so that's how our dates worked out. I really wanted to head down after he got out of work on the 26th but Jet blues airfares were $150 pp MORE than a flight just 12 hours later. The airfare cost was crazy high and I am just not going to think of that anymore!!

We go to WDW and do a 3 night cruise over Thanksgiving each year... and we are still doing that to NOT blow our cover. Crazy right! So we are actually at the World twice in two months!

Anyway... I am a planner through and through and I am hoping that all of you will be able to give me some December holiday insight so that I can plan the perfect NYE trip and wrap it all up as a Christmas gift for my kids in place of so many Santa gifts!

We will have Premium AP's and a Tables in Wonderland card. We want to fit in Candlelight Processional package one night. And my kids both love Hoop so that is another dinner option that would be a win win!

Do the Behind the Seeds and Caring for Giants tours run for that week between Christmas and NY? That could be an option for afternoon fun but I thought I heard that the tours don't run. Of course, I can't find proof of that anywhere!!