Garmin Question

Discussion in 'W.I.S.H' started by MickeyMomTo2, Mar 19, 2010.

1. MickeyMomTo2

MickeyMomTo2 Lauren S. @baseballsbows

I am in week 8 of a C25K, and my ultimate goal is the Disney Princess Half in 2011. As a birthday present for myself and a prize for finishing my C25K, I am looking at the Garmin 205 and 305. They appear to be the same, except the 305 has a heart rate monitor. Even though I am new to running, I have exercised for years, and I have never used a heart rate monitor. Is it worth the extra $$ (it's a $20 difference on amazon). Will I want to use it in my training?

Any opinions on these products? The reviews seem to be good, but I would love to hear from any of you who have one.

Thanks so much!

2. SetzKitten

SetzKitten <font color=red>I was Harley Chick in another life

I am also new to running. I'm on the seventh week of C25K and just bought myself the 305 as a reward/motivation for sticking with an exercise program longer than I ever have. That said, I've had my 305 for 1 day. I used it yesterday for the first time. I liked the heart rate monitor because I can connect the 305 to my laptop and download my results and will be able to see progress (hopefully lots of it). I don't know if the 205 has it or not, but the 305 has virtual partner that competes with you. Pretty cool.

3. Avatar

Advertisement

to hide this advert.
  4. solar

solar DIS Veteran

I think one of the other small differences is in the accessories...ex: foot pod...not sure if it works with the 205 - just got my 305 also, so really still learning it myself

I'd say if it won't break the budget, the upgrade is only $20 and you may appreciate it...if it were A LOT more, I'd research it more

5. VernRDH

VernRDH Sharing the same birthday with my baby girl and Mi