Florida Beaches

jshowe

Earning My Ears
We are headed to WDW the first week of April.

We are considering taking a day to head over to the ocean and check out a decent beach. Anyone have any suggestions as to good places to go ? It is DH, myself, and DD-13 and DD-16. We usually just like to hang out in the sun for a while, play on the beach, and tour local shops/restaurants etc.

we have decided to head to the Atlantic side and not the Gulf side.

any suggestions ?

I am not an expert on the Atlantic side at all (we have only been to Cape Canaveral and Daytona), so if you decide on the Gulf I could offer more suggestions...

I would recommend Siesta Key... Go over to Tampa, go over the Sunshine Bridge, drive down the coast and hit Siesta Key. A bunch of fun beach shops and restaurants. I would also suggest a restaurant called Yoders.

http://www.yodersrestaurant.com/

It is probably the best meal you will have! The beach is like baby powder. I strongly urge you to consider this!

The beaches on the Atlantic do not even come close to the Gulf! Check out St Pete Beach.

I agree with what other people have said. The gulf beaches are the prettiest and nicest. I might be a little biast being from that side of FL. :rotfl: If you are looking for character you can check out Daytona. Not sure if you can still drive on the beach, it has been a few years. New Symerna, St Augustine(think historic) are right around there also. Can't really recommend too much.

I must agree that the Gulf beaches are nicer.

If you are determined to go to the Atlantic side, a very good beach (near St. Augustine) is Crescent Beach, mid-way between Palm Coast and St. Augustine Beach. Here is an area map: http://www.beacherslodge.com/images/content/mapofstaugustine.pdf It is also off the radar of most visitors to Central Florida, so you won't hear much buzz about it.