First trip with kids - April 15-19, 2023

waxpop

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone! First off, I want to thank the folks on this board for all the wonderful information, tips, trip reports, and answered questions as I was planning this trip for the last few months. It has truly been invaluable.

I'm a Northern CA resident who has been to Disneyland maybe 6-8 times. I was planning a trip for October 2020 when the pandemic hit so I've been jonesing for this trip for years now, and turning more and more into a Disney adult as those years went on. πŸ˜„ This was the first trip where I went with kids (my own, 4 1/2 y.o. son and almost 8 y.o. daughter) and it was so different from all my other trips with just adults, obviously. Also with us were my elderly mother (in a rented ECV, which was a lifesaver!) and my sister and her husband. While we did have a ton of fun, I do have to say that I feel a bit melancholy thinking back on all the things I wanted to do that I didn't get to, and how hectic it felt a lot of times. Not sure if that's just the Disney hangover talking or my expectations being too high or what. There were many, MANY magical moments as well. I thought this might be a good place to get my thoughts, feelings, and observations out, hopefully without too much judgment. And sorry it's so long but I wanted to get everything down.