First time, one day, trip plan help?

Neverbeast

Mouseketeer
We’re planning a multi-family, multi-generation Disney trip where my 13 yo niece will be doing a lot of accommodating for the adults eating tastes and the little kids riding choices... we want her to have one day all about her interests so planning to send her, her dad, and her grandpa over to Universal for one day during the trip. I have zero experience there and a huge trip to plan for 11 other people, can you all help me plan out this one day for them?

When: mid sept 2020
Where: Staying on disney property, will probably Uber over
Who: 13 yo niece, huge Harry Potter fan, 36yo dad loves simpsons, grouchy about theme parks in general, 70yo grandpa, loves theme parks and gets excited about everything like a kid but can’t do miles and miles of walking in the heat without breaks.

I assume they need a two park pass and possibly the express pass to ride everything in one day? Should they try to do a HHN day and leave when party crowds start or go for the non-party longer day?

Should I plan a sit down meal for them or will they be fine grabbing QS as they go? Do I need to preplan anything else for them, or is it more chill than a Disney day?

No need to pre-plan anything. With just one day, I wouldn't waste the time on a sit down dining experience. If anything, have them grab something at Citywalk after so they can extend their outing. They can do dinner, shop, maybe mini-golf if interested.

I wouldn't do an HHN night because Diagon Alley at night is too magical to miss.

If you can swing one night in a hotel the night before for them (they could enjoy the CityWalk stuff then), then they could have early entry (super handy) and a deluxe hotel will include the Express Passes. Run the numbers and it might come out to a comparable deal as buying EPs out of pocket and they can have a leisurely morning. It's the best way to do a "day trip" to Universal.