Disney Air for Cruise from TO-?

Momtoemma

Mouseketeer
I am wondering if any one out there has used disney air to get to the cruise, and if so what did Disney put you on (ie non stop air canada, connecting US Air etc.), and what time
Thanks debbie

Hi Debbie:

I have not gone on a Disney cruise, but I am a travel agent. I know that you can almost always get a less expensive flight by booking your air separately. That being said though I would always recommend that if you do your own air you travel to Florida the day before. If you are not booked with Disney air, they have no obligation to hold the ship for you if your plane is delayed, however if you have a delay while booked with Disney the ship will wait for your arrival. This can be really important. I just had a lady who cruised with Princess and thankfullly had purchased her airfare through Princess Cruise Lines as her plane did not arrive until after the ship was due to depart (due to a security problem at the previous airport) and the ship waited until she arrived.

Most cruise lines now are using air that has at least one connection (sometimes two). You can however usually pay an air deviation fee and request a direct flight. Talk to your travel agent about this.

Wow! That's pretty interesting ... what is the price difference between booking the airfare separately and buying it through the cruise line? I guess if you're going with one person or more, it might be worth it to book one airplane ticket through the cruise as insurance :p

We did it in January and you spend the whole day travellling!

We were booked on US Air, Toronto, to Pittsburgh, layover for about an hour but should have been hour and half but due to weather was shorter. Then Pittsburgh to Orlando.

What should have been 4:00 a.m. until approximately 10:00 a.m., this is from wake up time to arrival at Resort turned into 4:00 a.m. until approximately 2:30 p.m. arrival at resort.