Disable Iphone for non use during Cruise

huffjoann

DIS Veteran
I am pretty new to Iphone world so I want to make sure I know what to do with my phone when we cruise in a few weeks so I don't get hit with international roaming.
Basically once we leave Port Caneveral I want all my data and calls to be turned off until we get back. I would like to use the camera on it a bit though. Thru settings I see I can turn off what looks like data/email? but what about phone? I don't really want any calls coming in either. :surfweb:

All you need to do is go I to settings and turn on airplane mode. That stops all data/phone functionality. You can still however use the camera and iPod.

Settings > Airplane Mode > On
Settings > WiFi > Off (should happen automatically when you do the first.)

You will not be able to go online, get or send texts, get or send email, or make or receive phone calls.

You will still be able to use your camera and other apps, but nothing that connects online.

- Dreams

To turn off 3G, cellular data, and data roaming: go to settings>General>network

from there, you can turn off your data roaming (it says to turn off when traveling to avoid extra charges), and turning off cellular data restricts all email and web to wi-fi.

I hope this helps :)

perfect! thanks!
I am afraid when I switch it back after 4 days it will be beeping forever with all the stored stuff, LOL

perfect! thanks!
I am afraid when I switch it back after 4 days it will be beeping forever with all the stored stuff, LOL

I was worried about the same but amazingly people didn't text or call much while I was away! I used airplane mode and used my iphone 4x exclusively, it was so nice! I was lucky and traveling with someone who didn't mine carrying her dSLR around so she got deemed official photographer.