Cruise vs. Park with a 5 year old

WooWoo

Earning My Ears
Hi all :wave:

I am fairly new here and a friend told me about these boards so I have been "lurking" for the last few weeks.

I have never been to Disney World (Oh the horror!!!!).... I have 4 sisters so vacations were usually low budget... ie camping.

I have a 5 year old little girl and I want to take her to Disney World (the one in Florida... is that Disney World or the other one???) As you can see I am a complete newbie and need lots of help!!

So here are a few questions...

My husband and I like to cruise... will my 5 year old get as much out of a cruise or should we consider a park? We do have a budget so both is probably out of the question.

The cruise length I am looking at is the 3 - 5 days one. I don't know if I am right assuming this or not... but my first thoughts about cruising is that there aren't as many people as there are at a park so she might have more 1 on 1 contact with the characters and I know there are programs where my husband and I can have some alone time too.

I know there are a lot of Disney veterans out there so I look forward to your responses!!

My little girl LOVED the cruise when she was 4.
You don't get tons of character time (you still have to wait in a line) but there were lots of opportunities listed in the navigator (a little schedule you get everyday of the cruise). She enjoyed the clubs- but never spent more that a few hours there at a time. If you had a child that never went to the clubs you might have to work a little harder to keep them busy. The mickey pool is great -but extremely crowded. She will enjoy the shows they were wonderful. My DD is pretty social and enjoyed meeting the servers etc...
I would go to the trip reports board and read lots of trip reports and see if they sound like something you as a family would enjoy

The cruise is a much more laid back kind of trip than the parks. The parks are exausting- but sooo much fun.