Best at Home Hair Color

Happy Mom2

DIS Veteran
For financial reasons, I am going to attempt to color my hair myself. I've been coloring my hair for 20 years, and for the last 10 I've had a professional colorist do it. I just can't continue to pay $100 for a cut and color right now.

I need a permanent dye (maybe semi permanent will would be better?) that will cover gray. My natural hair color is dark brown (almost black) with some gray, but my current color is light brown with lots of hi-lights (not blonde, just varying shades of brown). My hair tends to pick up red tints every easily. I want to stay my same color and not go any darker.

Sorry if this is too much information, but I'm desperate! Anyone have any suggestions... brand, color, technique, etc? :confused3

I finally tried the new foam kind.....John Frieda brand.....I LOVE it. Best color ever!

I buy LK brand permanent color from a beauty supply store for $9 a box but that will do two color treatments. It covers my grey really well. Plus I buy the large bottle of peroxide for a few dollars. Gloves and a bowl. I wait about 8 to 10 weeks in between. The salespeople at the beauty supply store are very helpful telling you what to do.

i had my hair professionally colored ONCE, in late september, 2010. since then, i've been doing the roots myself about every 5-6 weeks with clairol nice n easy root touch up. it is a PERFECT match to the salon color! i tried loreal root rescue first, because it had an easier-to-use applicator, but the color was bright and brassy, and not quite a match.
the root touch up is usually always on sale at either walgreens or cvs, and the P&G brandsaver insert has coupons once a month.

Thanks ladies. I forgot about the root touch up. I may give that one a try. I really like my hair color... just not the roots.

I finally tried the new foam kind.....John Frieda brand.....I LOVE it. Best color ever!