Are the photo packages worth it? Are the photos good quality?

Jenleephoto

Mouseketeer
Hi all,
Just ten days until our first ever Disney cruise (Dream, 4 night) ! We are getting excited!:yay:

Just curious, of those that have previously cruised Disney before , did you buy photo packages (or any photos?) and if so, are they worth it? I'm a bit of a photographer, so I am sometimes picky about photos and quality. That said, I am always lugging my nice camera around and it bugs me that I am always the one taking photos of our family/kids and I am NEVER in them! EVER!! (which is why I am thinking the photos might be worth it on the Disney Cruise! lol) So, what types of photos do they take on board? Do they take them only with the character meet/greets, or also at dinners and various other times ? And, how long after they take them do you get to see them (online or do you go to a ship kiosk and pick them up? or how does that work?)

Thanks in advance for your info/help!

Jen

Most of the photos are decent but they are terribly overpriced....oh yeah, it's Disney. Seriously, if you carry your camera with you, the character attendants are happy to shoot a picture with your camera if you want the whole family and you are welcome to shoot the kids with characters, etc.

I have one example where I bought the professional shot, but I like the one I happened to catch better...and I don't know much about pictures!

Let's see, there are several parts to this.

First, the pictures are definitely, absolutely overpriced. A 5x7 is like $15, and an 8x12 is $20. You can get lower prices if you buy greater quantity, but you will never, ever think "This is a good deal." They gouge, big time.

That said, unless you deliberately shy away from the photographers, they take a lot of pictures, and as one photographer (not from Disney) once told my DW, "The best way to take a good photograph is to take 36 pictures and throw 35 away." You will find photos you like.