After 500 Days We Finally Got Our Honeymoon!

erinburrsir

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone!

I've been browsing the DisBoards for a couple years now to help with my planning of previous cruises, but I've never done a Trip Report before. First time blogging it, so apologies if I'm not the best haha. I've enjoyed reading others' experiences, so I thought I'd give it a shot!

Some quick backstory on me - I am part of the LGBT community and got married to my wife in Fall 2018. We'd been dating for two years after meeting through a mutual friend, but we were long distance for a majority since she was here on temporary VISAs. My wife is from Scandinavia, so when we both popped the question to one another (at the same time!), we had a small wedding in her hometown in Europe, and then once she immigrated to the U.S. we had a second wedding in Los Angeles where we lived at the time. Our second wedding was a big celebration of both our families coming together with friends and loved ones to celebrate us becoming a family and her immigration to the U.S. This happened early March 2020 and we were set to sail on our Honeymoon with DCL on a 5-night out of Miami on the Magic later that month.

Then..............COVID happened.

We were very lucky no one got sick at our wedding and her family was able to make it home safely just before the shut downs began. In the week or so following the wedding, I was getting worried and anxious with the state of the health crisis, and just 9 days out from our sail date, we got that email saying our cruise had been cancelled.