2 rooms at an all-star or 1 at a nicer hotel?

my4kids

DIS Veteran<br><font color=darkorchid>Oh God, I'm
I'm brand new at this and actually my family doesn't really travel at all.
M husband and I decided to take our 4 kids on our first trip to disney for our 11th anniversary (I was expecting #4 on our 10th anniversary and could not travel)

Here is my big question - Is it better to book 2 rooms at a value resort or 1 at a moderate or deluxe resort considering the size of our family (my husband , myself, 3 kids and 1 baby in a crib)

I would love to stay at the Poly- but 1 room there looks like it is more expensive than 2 at a value. I was also considering 1 or 2 rooms at the riverside. Any info at all on this would be appreciated!

Also any helpful info on getting a discounted rate at a nicer hotel for 1 room would be great! :3dglasses kid1 :lovestruc kid2 :moped: kid3 :bounce: kid4

I would go with 2 rooms at a less expensive hotel. Having 6 people use one bathroom to get ready in the morning is a nightmare and it feels like you can never get out the door! I say this because I don't spend time at the resort - I am a park commando from the time I get ready in the morning until the time my head hits the pillow. And for me, the money that I'm spending isn't for a relaxing resort experience, it's for a fun park/themed experience. Even though I like to tour other resorts to experience their theming, I'm not a pool sitter while in WDW.

As for discounts, the popular answers are to check the boards often and to check out AAA. The annual pass used to be a good option for people with large families (if one person purchases the annual pass and reserves the rooms for their AP discounted rates), but this system has changed and offers only a change at a future lower rate, not a guaranteed - or even planned -one.

Good luck!