What's the science behind this?

dragitoff

DIS Veteran
I'm 37 and I've been running for 5 years. I started running to lose weight and I successfully did so dropping about 75 pounds. I've kept the weight off for the past few years and I've essentially been roughly the same weight for the past 3+ years. I've completed 2 full marathons, quite a few half marathons and a ton of other shorter distance races. I've logged more than 1000 miles each of the past 3 years and I'm currently on pace to do so again this year. I live in Southwest Georgia (hello humidity) and I consistently run slower during the summer months and always get progressively faster during the fall and winter.

This year, I changed my schedule of running from 5 miles 3 days per week and a long run on the weekend of 10-15 miles to 4 miles 4 days per week and a long run on the weekend of 8-12 miles. This summer, most notably this month, I've seen my "summer pace" get considerably faster. My normal summer pace is a monthly average of somewhere around an 8:40mm. This summer, I'm running closer to my winter training run times of 8:20mm. I'm also negative splitting almost every run and my long runs are even faster than my shorter runs most of the time. Even when they're not, I'm not seeing a regression in pace.

My question is would there be something to my shortening my summer long runs and daily runs, but increasing the frequency that has helped me get faster during this summer? This really excites me because if I follow my normal progression, I could be in for quite a few PR's this race season since my winter paces are usually about 30 seconds per mile faster than my summer paces.