What wireless routers do you all use?

Discussion in 'Budget Board' started by A Mickeyfan, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. A Mickeyfan

    A Mickeyfan DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Messages:
    9,607
    I am trying to find out what wireless router some use. I have Sprint DSL as my internet provider. I just purchased a Netgear DG834Gv2 & have used it for 3 days.. I hate it. I am going to return it. My connection has slowed down so much that the kids do not even want to use the net :rotfl2: ..and that is bad. The computer that it is hardwired to (mine) is slow but keeps the connection. The compter that is the wireless one, the connection drops at least once an hour..if not more. When ever you go on it, you have to "repair" connection to get onto the net. When you do get on, it is unbelieveably slow. I called Sprint DSL (now Embarq) and they did a test on my internet speed...it is up to what it should be. He said that it is either my router/modem or could be Norton's. He did say Norton's will slow things down a bid, but usually not as bad as mine sounds...
    Any suggestions? I went with the modem/router to have less plugs but can always go back to using my Sprint modem & just get a router...
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. rie'smom

    rie'smom <font color=green>"Always let your conscience be y

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    19,081
    I use Belkin and it's great. However,about once a week I think Charter must mess with the routers because they want an extra 60.00/year to provide networking. I have to unplug the router for a few minutes and then replug it. After that everything's fine. We have 3 computers networking and they all work reaaly well.
     
  4. A Mickeyfan

    A Mickeyfan DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Messages:
    9,607
    What you are doing once a week...unplug & replug, that is what I am doing once an hour.. at least! We only have 2 networked together at this point. I would hate to see it with three!
    I haven't heard much about the Belkin ones... usually the ones you see on sale are the Netgear & Linksys. I know the guy that built my computer uses Linksys.. and that was what he reccomended... then another friend was saying Netgear... I went with the Netgear because it was a "deal" on overstock.com... now I see why it was a "deal" The model I got supposingly is around $100... they had it for $45 then an additional 12% off.. with only $1 s&h ................
    I guess that saying is true.. if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is not true! The one I got is a refurb.. and I see why now.. must be a lemon one
     
  5. Toby'sFriend

    Toby'sFriend The thing about growing up with Fred and George is

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Messages:
    7,420
  6. rie'smom

    rie'smom <font color=green>"Always let your conscience be y

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    19,081
    I had a Linksys but got rid of it. IMO,the Belkin is much better.
     
  7. sskem96

    sskem96 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,119
    I have a Linksys. We just got our laptop about a month ago, and went to Best Buy to look for a wireless router. The salesman recommended Lynksis, it is the regular one, not the super or anything. We have cable internet and he said the routers that claimed to be faster wouldn't really be any faster for us because it will only go as fast as your connection will allow it to. I installed it myself, and it's been fine, we haven't had to do anything with it at all since.
     
  8. ClarabelleCowFan

    ClarabelleCowFan <font color=teal>Found Someone You Have<br><font c

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    7,502
    We have a D-Link. Love it! :thumbsup2
     
  9. ameraumi

    ameraumi DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,052
    We have a Belkin G and have had no problems with it. :thumbsup2
     
  10. grlzmom

    grlzmom DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,671
    We also replaced Linksys with Belkin and like it ALOT better.

    We also have charter and have to go through the unplugging thing about once a week. Other than that, we have great connection on the one main computer, one secondary (kids) computer and two laps (both with builtin wireless)
     
  11. lost*in*cyberspace

    lost*in*cyberspace DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    9,677
    I have a Linksys with Adelphia cable. I originally had Netgear and it was terrible, constantly dropping the connection. I had someone from Geek squad (through Best Buy) install it, as well as set up our computers for wireless printing and everything works beautifully with no frustrations on my part getting everything set up.
     
  12. disneycutie84

    disneycutie84 <font color=blue>tagless traitor<br><font color=co

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    779
    I have a Linksys, and pretty frequently the connection drops. Not all day, every day but maybe once a day. Its pretty annoying. I might have to consider a Belkin.
     
  13. drakethib

    drakethib DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,869
    I use Lynksys and have not had any problems with it.
     
  14. mitushib

    mitushib DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    703
    Linksys is great. I use it on 3 computers + 1 Tivo and have no problems whatsoever. For those who have problems with Linksys chat with their tech support they usually troubleshoot with u till the problem is solved.
     
  15. Amity 3

    Amity 3 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,309
    Airport Extreme.
     
  16. Hedy

    Hedy <font color=blue>I'm <s>22</s> 27 and I still kind

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,136
    I've always had good luck with Linksys.
     
  17. TENIA66

    TENIA66 <font color=red>Does the tag fairy post things you

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,596
    linksys wrt54g

    you can't beat linksys's netcheck or aol network magic
     
  18. PatMcDuck

    PatMcDuck DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 2000
    Messages:
    6,526
    I used 2 different Netgear routers, loads of issues. We had to reset it by unplugging at least once a DAY. Very annoying.

    I finally switched brands to Linksys, no more problems. I use wireless for my laptop, sons desktop, and 2 Tivo units.
     
  19. WDWorld2003

    WDWorld2003 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,213
    We have Linksys and no problems.
     
  20. Smileybug

    Smileybug Some honey for my old tags back

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    15,724
    We also have a Linksys. Also use it with 3 Lap Tops. We have had no problems. I think it's great!! Nothing better than sitting in front of the T.V. and Dissing at the same time!! :thumbsup2
     
  21. tinker&belle

    tinker&belle DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    We used to have a D-Link, but it had to be reset several times a day, and now we have a Linksys and couldn't be happier.
     

Share This Page