We're looking at buying a laptop and need your smarts.

Discussion in 'Australia' started by jacs1234, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. jacs1234

    jacs1234 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514
    When you buy a laptop in the US with a dvd drive, will it be compatible with Australian region 4 dvd's?

    Anyone know?
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. awesomebrownfamily

    awesomebrownfamily Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Hi there,
    you can change the region on a laptop DVD drive 4 or 5 times, after which it is locked to one region (not sure about windows 7)

    Go to My Computer
    Right click on the DVD drive & click 'Properties'.
    Click the 'Hardware' Tab.
    Double click on the DVD drive
    Click on the 'DVD Region' tab
    Change the region as required.

    Remember that offcialy you can only do this a set number of times, after which you can't make anymore changes. Though if you were to hunt around you could probably find some means of unlocking the drive to enable unlimited changes or seting it to all regions....
     
  4. Willow25

    Willow25 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Yes but you have to make a choice about which region you want it to play. It gives you five changes usually then you are stuck with whatever choice you have made. So if you chose region 4 you will not be able to play US dvd's for example. However my husband downloads programs such as dvd43 which will allow you to play dvd's from all regions.
     
  5. jacs1234

    jacs1234 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514
    GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks so much for that info guys. Very helpful.
     
  6. jacs1234

    jacs1234 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514
    How about wattage Does that matter. I'm not computer savvy.
     
  7. awesomebrownfamily

    awesomebrownfamily Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    It does..., but for most laptops the power pack is capable of dealing with a range of voltages...my toshiba laptop can deal with 100-240V. What you may need to deal with when you get back to Aus is the plug situation....but that is an easy fix.
     
  8. rossip

    rossip Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    $12.99 from Dick Smith !
     
  9. rossip

    rossip Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Yes so does the Acer we bought over there
     

Share This Page