Vegan Options at DLR

Discussion in 'Disneyland (California)' started by nutshell, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. DSNY4ever

    DSNY4ever <font color=darkorchid>I am going to keep hunting

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,152
    Phew, thank goodness for the DIS :) I am sure by the time we go again my husband will probably ask about everything. He has learned that you have to do that now even when you'd think something would be obviously vegetarian.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. Eclectic Goddess

    Eclectic Goddess My Ears are a Pair of Devil Horns

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Beware the cupcakes! Quite a few places in DL and DTD use gelatin in the frosting. I'm not even a strict vegetarian, but I find gelatin too gross to consider. I was pretty bummed. Worse, when I've asked, they often haven't known if their frosting has gelatin or not.
     
  4. bumbershoot

    bumbershoot DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    48,893
    Yep. It was while checking for corn syrup based ingredients in the Hungry Bear cupcake* that I saw the gelatin in it, and even though I wasn't the biggest fan of Disney cupcakes, it was highly disappointing that a LONGtime vegetarian like me never even though to check a stinkin' cupcake. I check mousse, I check key lime pie, etc, but cupcakes?

    Anyway, Hungry Bear has the ingredient book right there, it's how I checked the ingredients in the cupcake, so if anyone is nervous, just ask to look at it for the sandwich.



    *gelatin was in two spots: the frosting and, if memory serves, the lemon mousse.... It seems silly to mention in a *vegan* thread that I checked for the honey lemon cupcake, but really, at Disney are they REALLY using honey in anything? Honey flavoring seems far more likely. :) But anyway, the gelatin blasts it out of the water for vegan or vegetarian.
     
  5. bumbershoot

    bumbershoot DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    48,893
    You know what's funny...while doing some heavy googling, the fried green tomato sandwich has been touted as vegetarian from the first moment of the "new" menu. I'm only seeing one person replying saying that they were *told* that the remoulade contained anchovy. They don't say they read it in the binder, but that they were told.

    It's odd. I wonder if it ever was actually made with anchovy?
     
  6. ArchOwl

    ArchOwl The Highly Educated Owl

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,255
    Interesting. I feel bad because one of my veggie friends was with me on a trip a few years ago and I totally thought the Fried Green Tomato Sandwich was vegetarian. The CM there said it was too. Then later I heard it wasn't vegetarian.

    Then later on Disney said it was vegetarian! But was it always vegetarian? Maybe we will never know...

    Reminds me of the tamale truck I ordered from recently. They had a "vegan" tamale: sweet corn with honey sauce. I told them honey wasn't vegan and they looked at me like I was nuts. Later on, I saw someone cross out "vegan" on the menu and put "vegetarian". Maybe they googled it!
     
  7. cmwade77

    cmwade77 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,021
    I was about to respond with this, yes, I would just ask.
     

Share This Page