The Rice's are "Running" at Disney....

kristenrice

NOT just an ambulance driver
OK, better late than never...I always seem to start a PTR to quell my excitement. Then, by day 2 of the trip, I forget to update...I get home, and forget:rolleyes2. So here goes...my first attempt to start AND FINISH a trip report:flower3:

The Backstory...
In August of 2012, I discovered RunDisney. I was never a runner and decided to make it my goal to do a 5K at Disney World and I chose the Wine and Dine weekend as my target date. I started training using the walk/run method and the C25K app. My older daughter, Kamryn, who had just turned 9, started running with me too. Within 6 weeks, I could do a 5K:woohoo:so Kam and I signed up for a 5K in February 2013. That would be our first of TEN 5K races that we did together in 2013!

I set my goal a little higher...
In November 2013, DH and I participated in the Wine and Dine 1/2 Marathon.

When we got home, our younger daughter (Kaedyn) loved the medals. She decided that she wanted to earn one too. At the time, she had just turned 8 so there would be no 1/2 marathons in her near future. Most of the 5K races have those rubber "medals" and she was not interested in those. Then, she saw the medal for the Expedition Everest Challenge:goodvibes. She said she had to have one. She'd already done a 5K fun run with me and her older sister so I knew she'd be up for the challenge.

I looked into the race and when I saw that the minimum age is only 9, I told her it was a possibility....and then we had a problem:eek:.