Telescope or Binoculars?

Goofy39.3

Mouseketeer
I will be on the EBTA and am thinking about bringing a telescope or binoculars. I have no experience with either. I would like to use it with my DS5 for looking at the night sky and more Earthly sightseeing. Anybody who has done this have any good suggestions. I don't want to go too crazy, between $100 and $200. Size is obviously an issue also. Thank you in advance.

I have no experience with either binoculars or telescopes, but I will tell you that the ship is very brightly lit at night and I found star gazing (with the naked eye) very difficult.

We used several pairs of binoculars on our Pixar Pacific cruise - saw sea lions, whales, and dolphins! Great for port days too as we were coming in to dock. Kids loved it! Our rules: must wear strap and no leaning over the railing. Telescope might be difficult to pack and I've found cheap telescopes don't work well. Good luck!

I brought a Monocular on our last two cruises. Worked just as well as binoculars but much smaller and fit nicely in my backpack. Used it to look at things from the veranda as well as took it on land excursions.

For whatever this is worth, I did buy a pair of "nice" binoculars for our cruise next year. I thought about a telescope but figured the binoculars were much more useful. I doubt star gazing would be very fruitful at sea since there is constant motion either by the ship moving or the tides causing rocking. I cannot imagine being able to use it very well except perhaps at port, at night, but then there is going to be too much artificial light.

Go with binoculars.

DWF

I brought a Monocular on our last two cruises. Worked just as well as binoculars but much smaller and fit nicely in my backpack. Used it to look at things from the veranda as well as took it on land excursions.

Arrrrrrrrrrgggghhhhh . . . and ye could use it as a prop at Pirate Night as well!

DWF