Taking your laptop...

Discussion in 'Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board' started by two*little*birds, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. two*little*birds

    two*little*birds DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    I've never taken my laptop on a plane before - is there anything I need to know?

    Any hints/tips for the airport as well - we'll be flying out of Buffalo.

    Thanks ;)
     
  2. cslittle999

    cslittle999 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,466
    The only thing special about traveling with a laptop is that you need to take it out of the bag and send it through the xray machine separately. You can't use it on the plane until they announce it is okay to use electronic devices. If you do bring it out, be careful of the person in front of you reclining. If your not careful the screen can be caught by the seat as it moves back.
     
  3. dgkjh

    dgkjh Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    For the most part, at the airport at least, just make sure it is easily accessible so that you can take it out and turn it on if necessary through security. Make sure you are fully charged beforehand so that if you want to use it on the plane, you can.

    I know we are likely to take ours as it is helpful for storing photos and video as we go along. I am just thinking I will want to take along a laptop lock cable so that I can secure it in our room. Does anyone have advice on that?
     
  4. Avatar

    Google AdSense Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  5. Thumper_ehhhhh

    Thumper_ehhhhh <font color=darkorchid>Better to have been tagged

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,325
    We have taken ours a few times on trips. We brought it on as carry on and put it under the seat in front of us. Make sure the battery is charged in case they want you to turn it on. (same goes with cameras) You will more than likely have to remove it from the bag for the x-ray machine and place it in a bucket so make sure your laptop bag is clean in that section so stuff wont fall out all over the place. Other than that no problems. No worries enjoy your trip.
     
  6. networktek

    networktek it all started with a mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    i always take mine i like to look at the photopass pic onlne at the hotel and check my emails at the buffalo airport to use the internet there it is $9.99 for 24hours same as in disney
     
  7. DearDaisyinDurham

    DearDaisyinDurham <font color=green>I'm trying not to look at the po

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,208
    tech :worship: genuises, your input please - the ads came out yesterday (best buy future shop) is $449 a fair price for the toshiba satellite laptop featuring amd athlon x2 tk-57 dual core processor? (please understand I am not techie just a disie :surfweb: )

    was planning to wait for black friday however this seems good
     
  8. rewok

    rewok Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Not a genius, just a techie (both for work and leisure), but it is a decent deal. However, there is only 1GB of RAM, and with Vista this is simply not enough. It would make the computer pretty slow, even if you only do simple stuff like web browsing, office work, ... It should be possible to upgrade this to 2GB (30-40$ for the part), however, if you can't do it yourself, the cost will be too much and it would be better just to get a model with 2GB integrated, like the Toshiba at 550$ at Best Buy. Would love to tell you to go ahead, but I would not for my friends and family, so I want you to not be disappointed.

    Basically, check the total memory, min 2GB. If you want to do light stuff, most CPUs are OK. The rest is standard on all models: basic wireless, wired network, most still have a modem. Some people hate some brands, however on the lower price models, I haven't seen any big differences. The Acers seem a bit cheap, so at the same price I'd choose another brand, but it is a matter of personal preference!
     
  9. DearDaisyinDurham

    DearDaisyinDurham <font color=green>I'm trying not to look at the po

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,208
    :thumbsup2 thanks, that's the stuff I need to know!! unfortunately I'm not the most patient person waiting for things to download :rolleyes1 so will keep looking and def. look for 2GB.
     
  10. rewok

    rewok Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    No problem, I'll be happy to help out again if you need it. Just PM if it's urgent!
     
  11. DearDaisyinDurham

    DearDaisyinDurham <font color=green>I'm trying not to look at the po

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,208
    thanks!!

    not urgent, but here's another question

    once we get the laptop, how do we "do" wireless? i.e., we have rogers high speed for this desktop computer (not dial up) - do we buy that new rocket stick thing?

    thanks!!
     
  12. Ham Ham

    Ham Ham We will take over from the mouse!

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    You have a couple of options.

    You can buy a wireless router, set it up between the modem and the PC you already have and the router will send the internet signal throughout your house using Wifi.
    Laps tops or notebooks have a Wifi transceiver that allows them connect to the wireless signal being distributed through you house.

    You will also be able to connect your iPod touch via Wifi to the net.

    If you rent your modem from Rogers you can upgrade to modem/wireless router for $1.50 more a month.

    Don't forget to secure the router so that the connection is not open to the neighbourhood.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. PBX1

    PBX1 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    I wouldn't do wireless unless you know how to secure a wireless connection. As someone already mentioned, if it is not secure, all your neighbors can use you connection for surfing or drop in on your online banking.
     
  14. mtmbyck

    mtmbyck I AM Canadian eh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,710
    It is very simple to hook up a secure wireless connection! In fact, I'm a moron with computers and I did it no problem -it cues you to do it as I recall (I am with Rogers).

    I would check with Tiger Direct before purchasing. They are in Markham and they also ship for free. They have some amazing deals. DH got a nice laptop for $449 in July.

    Don't rent the wireless - buy it so that if you move it can come with you!
     
  15. Ham Ham

    Ham Ham We will take over from the mouse!

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Advantage to renting the modem/wireless-router is that if there is a problem with it Rogers will support it. They can even control it remotely to reset your password.

    Agreed configuring the router into a secure mode is not very difficult. But if technology is a little imposing for you it can be frustrating.

    You can find cheap wireless routers for around $40 and save the additional $1.50 a month in rental charges.

    Click image for link to info.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. DearDaisyinDurham

    DearDaisyinDurham <font color=green>I'm trying not to look at the po

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,208
    wow!!!! thanks guys that's a huge help. so much to think about, glad I asked.

    so, wireless SECURED router. that link is great. thanks again.
     
  17. PBX1

    PBX1 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    104
    Unfortunately the wireless router you linked to only supports WEP which is a very unsecure protocol and is easily cracked. I wouldn't consider anything less than a device that supports WPA2.
    Mtmbyck, you claim it is easy to set up a secure wireless system, I'm curious as to what you're set up is. I have my doubts as to how "secure" it is.
     
  18. Ham Ham

    Ham Ham We will take over from the mouse!

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Notice in my post I said cheap. You get what you pay for. Never said I recommended that router.

    If I didn't have a wireless router already I'd probably have Rogers supply one to me.

    If someone is determined and has the ability they'll hack your network.

    PBX 1 please provide some tips for us on how to have a truly secure network and recommended devices.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. DearDaisyinDurham

    DearDaisyinDurham <font color=green>I'm trying not to look at the po

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,208
    :flower3: yes tips appreciated!!!!

    Thanks,
    Daisy (who finally had the :cloud9: poutine for dinner)
     
  20. rewok

    rewok Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Well, I guess here we have a case of the cobbler's family not having shoes (does this saying exists in English?), but we are not very paranoid about security, and only have some basic one! This are for many reasons for our current setup, and we run check frequently.

    However, when helping out my "non-techie" friends and family, I usually have them setup some type of encryption, whether WEP (the lesser encryption) or WPA, and make them change their SSID and router password. I can do it on the phone (well DBF more often does because he's more patient than me!), just helping them out go through the motions. The routers now come with a configuration CD, and it helps a lot for newbies.

    Basically, you need encryption (WPA or WEP), mostly to prevent others from connecting to your network (intentionaly or not) and using your Internet. For that, you create a passphrase on the router (ex. Daisy is a Disney addict, try not to be too obvious ;) ), and when your wireless card on your PC will connect, it will ask you to enter this phrase (you can setup this to only do it once).

    Changing the router SSID makes it easier to identify YOUR home network (because all the houses on the block will show) instead of being one of the 10 "Linksys" (router brand), so just use for ex. Daisy.

    And finally, changing the router password is for pretty obvious reasons: just in case someone does connect to your network, at least they won't be able to change your configurations and lock you out of your Internet!

    As a final word, this will protect you in 99% of the cases, some talented pirate might be able to go through with lots of effort, but frankly, the chance of one of those living on you block (and having something to prove) is pretty slim. (If you see a white van with antennas parked in front of your home, not that's a another story! :laughing: )

    As for brands, I wouldn't buy a Belkin, but both DLink & Linksys are OK.
     
  21. DearDaisyinDurham

    DearDaisyinDurham <font color=green>I'm trying not to look at the po

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,208
    Wow, thanks!!
    I'm going to print out your advice & use it.

    My ? after what PBX1 said, was, having a "wireless router" in the house - that would provide WiFi for a laptop & an iTouch - that's why it needs security, b/c it's wireless. Right?

    But would having a "wireless router" - does that put my desk top computer/system at risk? Or are we talking two totally separate things?

    And yes we have that saying in English too, the shoe maker's children never have shoes! LOL.

    Thanks again!

    :flower3: Daisy Disney Addict (I like that!)
     

Share This Page