Switching to RAW...any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Photography Board' started by denise, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. denise

    denise The world is a book, and those who do not travel,

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Ok, I'm going to take the plunge and switch to RAW from JPEG. Everyone says post production is better in RAW and that I should switch.

    I Leave in less then one week on the Wonder and want to make sure I am set for it.
    Are there any things I need to know before I leave? Any different settings I should use? :confused3

    I have a D7000 and it has 2 slots for memory cards. I can set up the cards many different ways.
    Should I:
    1. have card one as RAW and card 2 as RAW overflow
    2. have card one as RAW and card 2 as JPEG
    3. have card one as RAW and card 2 as copy of card 1

    Any hints or suggestions are appreciated.
    thanks,
    denise
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. zackiedawg

    zackiedawg WEDway Peoplemover Rider

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,822
    Well, not EVERYONE says RAW is better for all processing. But most do. ;) Actually, RAW has more latitude for corrections and alterations in post processing than JPG - not that it is necessarily 'better' all else being equal. If you don't have anything to correct, or the corrections are extremely minor, you might never see any real gain from JPG to RAW. But as soon as you need to make large alterations or large-scale processing, the extra data contained in the RAW file comes in very handy and will give you much more room for recreating your photo minus much of what you got wrong and/or wanted to touch up.

    As for how to shoot - I'd strongly recommend as a newbie to RAW that you take advantage of your dual card slots, and shoot in RAW + JPG, with RAW to one card and JPG to the other. This will give you two nice advantages - 1. For those shots not really needing much work or any, you can just grab the JPGs and be done with it - save yourself processing time...and 2. If you find yourself struggling to get your processing workflow down with RAW, at least you have a card full of JPGs of the same shots - you can resort to those and can always come back to the RAWs as you get better.
     
  4. mom2rtk

    mom2rtk DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    34,488
    My advice? Buy more memory. Then buy some more. Or bring a laptop.

    I enjoy having the RAW files, as I like having the latitude to correct my mistakes, especially from special trips where I can't just go reshoot if I messed up. So it was worth it to me to just get tons of memory for the trips where I don't have a computer along.
     
  5. TC09

    TC09 Hidden Mickey?

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,131
    I would go with #2 or #3. Either way, it may be a better idea to have the second card as backup (whether it be JPG or RAW) just in case one of the cards go bad. I haven't experienced a card going bad on me, but I prefer playing it safe.

    I agree with mom2rtk... buy more memory. I also have a D7000 and shoot RAW. My 8GB sd card can only hold about 220 RAW shots. Sorry, I don't remember the exact number.
     
  6. photo_chick

    photo_chick Knows a little about a lot of things, a lot about

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,978
    Double the number of memeory cards you use to shoot jpeg. And invest in good software for your RAW workflow otherwise processing will take over your life.
     
  7. Jalva22

    Jalva22 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,383
    What would be recommended? I currently use Elements. Sufficient or could my life be much easier? Thanks!
     
  8. klmall

    klmall aka Kathy DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 1999
    Messages:
    137,405
    That's an excellent question! I also use Elements and it's fine for my XSi processing but my Canon G12 posed a different issue since Canon hasn't released the ACR converter yet for raw (UGH!) so I have to either shoot in jpeg or use Canon's proprietary software (a pain) or do what I have been putting off for years buy Lightroom or whatever!

    Since I don't have anyone in the family qualified for a student discount for Lightroom and don't want to spend $400 or more I am as they say stuck between a rock and a hard place :headache: I would rather spend my $$$ on a new lens for landscape pictures.

    I really don't want the learning curve of Lightroom either and I like the photo organization system I have (not Elements).

    Suggestions for denise and me, anyone? TIA.
     
  9. mom2rtk

    mom2rtk DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    34,488
    Steal a student????

    OK, just kidding. Wish I could help. I totally used my kid last summer to get the student discount for LR3. Honestly, I know I'm not getting the most out of the program yet, but have been VERY happy with the parts I have used. I didn't think the basics required a steep learning curve. I do still hope to learn much more about it (and have now purchased the Scott Kelby LR3 book) it was worth it already.

    I also was happy with my organization system, and have not availed myself of its cataloging function yet.
     
  10. photo_chick

    photo_chick Knows a little about a lot of things, a lot about

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,978
    It's personal preference. Personally I cannot stand using Bridge and Adobe Camera RAW, so I use Lightroom for my RAW processing and image management. Now you can do all the same processing with ACR in Elements. I just find it much more efficient for me with Lightroom, mainly because of how easy it is to access images in it.
     
  11. DVC Mike

    DVC Mike DVC & Photography for me! BLT/VGF/BWV DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,541
    I use card 1 as RAW and card 2 as RAW copy/backup.

    I use Lightroom 3 for RAW processing.
     
  12. denise

    denise The world is a book, and those who do not travel,

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Thanks for all the answers!!

    I will have my netbook with me.

    Currently I have 4 cards of 8 GB each. I also have several 2 GB cards. So I could use the 8 GB for the RAW and the 2GB as JPEG backup. Does this sound ok?

    I have Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom 3.
    I got the student discount because I took photoshop last semester at the local JC and I'm taking color photography this semester which also teaches Lightroom. The student discount was nice....:)

    Ok dumb question about Raw. I DO NOT have CS5 or LR3 on my netbook. It has no dvd drive. If I have to empty cards onto the netbook to reuse them will the RAW pics load up or do I have to have a special software for them to save and be viewed on my netbook?

    denise
     
  13. SrisonS

    SrisonS ... and that's 'ess-ryzun-ess' (play on my name)

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4,537
    I'd say to probably just install the Canon software on your Netbook. Then at least you'll be able to view them in full glory. And you can download that software for free, since you have no DVD drive.

    @klmall: there have recently been discounts for LR3 on Amazon. Check to see if they're still going on. And like someone else mentioned, there isn't a big learning curve for Lightroom. Heck, the processing aspects of it are much more straightforward than the organizatonal ones.
     
  14. ukcatfan

    ukcatfan DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,268
    Give Bibble Pro a look for processing. Most people use LR, but I personally like Bibble more.

    EDIT: Nevermind, I just noticed that you already have LR
     
  15. denise

    denise The world is a book, and those who do not travel,

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    OK now another question------especially for the D7000 users;

    when looking at the options for RAW and JPEG I see:

    1. RAW + JPEG fine
    2. RAW + JPEG normal
    3. RAW + JPEG basic


    if I choose 1,2 or 3 I can also choose what size image, Large, Medium or small for the JPEG. (I really have never shot is basic and small so I don't think that should even be part of my question, or should it?)

    What size should the JPEG be, Large or Medium? and should I use fine or normal?
    I'm going to have card 2 be the card for the JPEG (2GB) and card 1 be the RAW(8GB).

    With the JPEG set to fine and large I will get about 135 shots.
    With the JPEG set to normal and large I will get about 269 shots
    With JPEG set to fine and medium I will get about 239 shots
    With JPEG set to normal and medium I will get about 398 shots

    BUT NOW....if I take the 2GB card out of slot 2 and change the settings to just RAW it says I will get 398 shots!!! I get the same results, 398 shots, if I change the card 2 slot to be a overflow.
    WHAT am I not understanding?
    I don't understand.....:confused3
     
  16. photo_chick

    photo_chick Knows a little about a lot of things, a lot about

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,978
    IMO shooting RAW plus jpeg is redundant, wastes memory card space and takes more time to write to the card. It's like wearing socks with sandals.. commit to one or the other. You're shooting RAW to process them into jpegs yourself. If you're worried about how they'll look, most RAW processing software does have presets to make getting started easier.
     
  17. ukcatfan

    ukcatfan DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    5,268
    I have to disagree here. I always do RAW plus JPG because then I instantly have a file I can give to the DW so that she can share on FB. When she has to wait for me to post process, she is not a happy camper! :scared1:
     
  18. denise

    denise The world is a book, and those who do not travel,

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    I wondered about the time it takes to write to the cards. I don't want to slow down.
    I would never wear socks with sandals....:lmao: now my DH, that's a different thing;)

    I have always shot in JPEG but want to have more flexibility with post processing. I am learning LR and want to get the full effect by using RAW.
    I might just make card 1 RAW and card 2 overflow....:confused3...before I thought about changing to RAW I had slot 1 as JPEG and slot 2 as JPEG copy. I also don't want to shot and have the card go bad....what to do, what to do????:confused3:confused3
     
  19. denise

    denise The world is a book, and those who do not travel,

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Does it slow you down when taking pictures?
    I see your point too....
    but what settings would you use for the JPEG?
     
  20. KAT4DISNEY

    KAT4DISNEY Glad to be a test subject

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,372
    :thumbsup2

    (And I also have been known to wear nice warm socks with my Birks. ;))
     
  21. Gianna'sPapa

    Gianna'sPapa DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,921
    I shoot RAW + JPEG for many of the same reasons. When I'm on vacation I and the family want the instant gratification of seeing the images without waiting to PP. The only time I notice any slowing down of the camera is when I am shooting in bursts. If the buffer fills then it will stop or slow down until it clears. That has been rare. Maybe because I am cognizant of that I try not to push it to the limit. I believe the newer cameras have a larger buffer and I know their burst rate is faster than my 3-5 FPS.
     

Share This Page