Special Wednesday Podcast Recording

Discussion in 'The DIS Unplugged Podcast' started by OKW Lover, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. skier_pete

    skier_pete None

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    I agree, nothing more annoying than the way that you can be standing watching a show at Disney and have a hundred people (or even just one) holding Ipad's over there heads blocking your view. I feel like saying - I don't really want to watch this show through your iPad, thank you.

    So, if you take pictures with your Ipad, please don't hold it over your head.
     
  2. Avatar

    Google AdSense Guest Advertisement


    to hide this advert.
  3. GaSleepingBeautyFan

    GaSleepingBeautyFan DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    I agree. I got to watch the grand opening that was done at Cinderella Castle of New Fantasyland through a womans Ipad because she put it up as soon as it started. I had a great spot to watch it from until she did that.
    I even asked her to put it down so I could see but she rolled her eyes and me and kept holding it up.

    So here's my question for the show:

    How do you organize all of the cords? Mine get to be such a jumbled mess when I travel.
     
  4. jcb

    jcb always emerging from hibernation

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,823
    This reminds me that I need to go label the pockets in my photographer's vest. I can never find where I put that 67mm circular polarizing filter.
     
  5. k5jmh

    k5jmh When Yuba plays the Rumba on his Tuba...

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,458
    :thumbsup2
     
  6. k5jmh

    k5jmh When Yuba plays the Rumba on his Tuba...

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,458
    Jack, you need a Utilikilt.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. HollyMac71

    HollyMac71 Sucks to have a dull life!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    534
    How about cell phones in foreign countries? Do you need to get a sim card or should you get a throw away phone once you get overseas?

    :wave2:
     
  8. k5jmh

    k5jmh When Yuba plays the Rumba on his Tuba...

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,458
    It depends on what you are trying to do. I turn on international roaming on my phone with the carrier and then purchase a SIM Card (with Data) when I get overseas for my Ipad.
     
  9. jcb

    jcb always emerging from hibernation

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,823
    Holly, I do the same thing as Mike. Understand that you must first make sure your phone works overseas. I know most AT&T phones do but can't vouch for anything else. But "turning on international roaming" simply discounts the cost. You still pay an arm and a leg per minute rate to talk on the phone. I also suspect the throw-away phone cost a lot if you are using it to call back to the US. I don't know, though.

    If you want to use the phone for data, you'll need to have a phone that will let you switch sim cards or you will pay a ridiculously high rate for data. If you are "under contract" on your phone, odds are you can't switch out the sim card.

    As for data, AT&T wants $120 for 800 megabytes of data. I bought an iPad sim card in Rome for €25 that gave me 5 gigabytes of data (and I use all 5 gigabytes too). I think John and Kevin found it slightly cheaper.
     
  10. k5jmh

    k5jmh When Yuba plays the Rumba on his Tuba...

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,458
    On Verizon Iphone 5's, the SIM Card Slot is active and is not locked. So in theory, you could also add an ATT or International SIM if you need to. :rolleyes1
     
  11. WebmasterShaun

    WebmasterShaun Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    198
    Hey folks, unfortunately we've had to postpone our Travel Tech segment so we won't be going live tomorrow. We'll be doing it on a later date though and we'll announce that soon.

    Definitely keep your questions and suggestions coming in! You can also email us at podcast@disunplugged.com. Thanks!
     
  12. OKW Lover

    OKW Lover Retired and living 2 miles from The Castle. DIS Lifetime Sponsor

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,310
    Thanks for letting us know.

    I presume the delay was so that one of the hosts could go out and buy more technology. :badpc:
     
  13. jcb

    jcb always emerging from hibernation

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,823
    Hoping it isn't anything more serious than technical difficulties.

    Jack
     
  14. Justin Jett

    Justin Jett <font color=darkorchid>I will do my Elvis impressi

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,244
    Just yesterday....I put a Tmobile SIM in my Verizon 5.
     
  15. Justin Jett

    Justin Jett <font color=darkorchid>I will do my Elvis impressi

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,244
    Mike and Pete having technical difficulties????? :lmao:
     
  16. k5jmh

    k5jmh When Yuba plays the Rumba on his Tuba...

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,458
    I think it is a "Virtual" issue.
     
  17. Justin Jett

    Justin Jett <font color=darkorchid>I will do my Elvis impressi

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,244
    Leo is having similar "Virtual issues" :)
     
  18. mytripsandraces

    mytripsandraces DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,168
    Did it work, Skip? I've been waiting for TMobile to get the iPhone (I'm still using my 2001 Nokia 5190). Is your Verizon unlocked or are Verizons never locked? Thanks!
     
  19. k5jmh

    k5jmh When Yuba plays the Rumba on his Tuba...

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,458
    The SIM Slot on VZW Iphone5's are unlocked. VZW does not use a SIM natively for their CDMA radio.
     
  20. TinkerChelle

    TinkerChelle Happy Mommy of 2

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,142
    Glad I checked here. I just tuned into livestream and nothing. Thought I had hallucinated the email. :rotfl:
     
  21. Justin Jett

    Justin Jett <font color=darkorchid>I will do my Elvis impressi

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,244
    As Mike said, the GSM slot on the Verizon 5 is unlocked. I bought a prepaid SIM from Tmobile, as a backup. It worked.
     

Share This Page