Post-trip Random Thoughts

kapeppy

Mouseketeer
Now that I am home and the pictures are developed and the videotape has been copied, there is little left to do other than think back to those glorious days and jot down some random thoughts:
1. Being a WDW veteran I almost expected to be disappointed in DL. I have to say, it is quite the opposite. I found many of the rides to be better in DL than in WDW (POC in particular!) and I actually like the layout of DL better than WDW. I know it's because it's a smaller park but it eliminated the "tired" factor out of each day (you know - when your feet are barking, your back is aching and your head is throbbing!).
2. I really liked the close proximity of DL to DCA and DD. It's nice not having to board a bus or drive your car and find yet another parking place!
3. Main Street USA DL felt much cozier and homier (IMHO) than Main Street USA WDW. I really enjoyed just wandering around the shops and people watching!
4. DCA was a nice park but it needs more attractions. I know it's new and I am sure it will change during the first few years but I really didn't feel like I was in a Disney park. No burnt popcorn smell, though!
5. I can't get over the character interaction in these two parks compared to WDW! I know we were there during the week so I didn't have a lot of competition, but I was actually able to get my picture taken with Mickey! I have never seen Mickey or Minnie in WDW other than in a parade and I was able to see both in DL and DCA. I also saw everyone from Goofy, Pluto, and Donald, to Cruella, Mary Poppins, Esmerelda, and Belle (that's only some of the many characters we encountered!). I have been on two Disney cruises and haven't even found the character interaction there to be as great as it was in DL and DCA!