Port Orleans Riverside Q&A Thread 2013, Part Three (NOW CLOSED, see 2014 thread)

Discussion in 'Disney Resorts' started by andrewilley, Sep 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. illuminatedillusions

    illuminatedillusions Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    So in relation to sunset, it is just before half 7 :) Hopefully the person looking to know is on this thread.

    So I went to Magic Kingdom today but I didn't have the most magical time. Some of the guests being shocked being by myself and the things they said to me. :sad2:

    The reaction which was the worse was when someone said that it is a bit odd coming to a 'childs' place by yourself and someone else told me when at the gate of the part was I alright in the head as I told them I prefer to visit parks by myself. It just threw me. :confused3

    Anyway I got over all of that as I went back to POR for an hour and then went back. Things I liked:

    Tomorrowland - i.e. the best part of Magic Kingdom to me. I loved Space Mountain, loved Stitch's Great Escape, loved Monster Inc. Laugh Floor (the monsters couldn't understand my accent so I was "pub talking"!

    Transportation - to and from POR was amazing. Buses were on time and immediate outside the park. As for in the park, the train service is amazing!

    Staff at rides - while some may not agree, staff were willing to sit me on my own in huge rows of seats (such as a its a small world). Granted this was when it was quiet but this was great to have my own space.

    And not getting burned as I used a 50 factor suncream!!!

    Tomorrow it is either a pool day or a day at Hollywood studios depending if I wake up with aches and pains! :rolleyes:
     
  2. Avatar

    DIS Sponsor The Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin is located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Reosrt.

    to hide this advert.
  3. TDDisney

    TDDisney Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    297
    I'm nervous about the fridge. What do you mean they would only give refund if it was a medical necessity? So, there is not a guarantee for a medical necessity? My DH is diabetic. We HAVE to have a fridge. It's not an option....his med has to be refrigerated. I have the request on our ressie, and will fax request. Andre...should I be concerned? I'm nervous after reading this.
     
  4. TDDisney

    TDDisney Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    297
    I am so sorry to hear that your day wasn't so magical bc of some people's comments. Why do some people have to be mean? I hope you have a good day tomorrow! :hug:
     
  5. Disneylover99

    Disneylover99 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8,927
    Try not to let the ignorant comments get you down. I hope you have a great trip! pixiedust:
     
  6. illuminatedillusions

    illuminatedillusions Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks! Thinking back now, it makes me angry but then I think so what...I am still having a good time. I just wish I had ignored it now and had some smart comment to say back to them at the time! hehe
     
  7. wdwguy50

    wdwguy50 7 Decades of "Goofying" around with Disney!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    I have gone solo the past two trips to WDW and will be going again in 13 days...by myself. I love the freedom to follow my plan or "go with the flow." Sorry some people were so insensitive. They just don't "feel the Magic!"
     
  8. lmhall2000

    lmhall2000 May the road rise to meet you....May God hold you

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,768
    Just make sure you note it in your requests and fax it in 3-5 days prior, so far anyone who needed a fridge for medical reasons (in the past week) have had a fridge put in their room...do not worry, I bet you will be fine :)
     
  9. wahmtexas

    wahmtexas Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    476
    Newbie to Riverside, just had to change our Thanksgiving Wilderness Lodge trip to December Royal Room. I have a lot to learn. Thankful I was still able to get some amazing dining reservations and got in on Free Dining just under the wire today!
     
  10. TDDisney

    TDDisney Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    297
    How do you know that so far everyone who needed one got one? Did they tell you? If you get to talking to a CM, tell them TD's DH NEEDS a fridge on Oct. 5th....lol!
    The irony of only giving a credit for a medical NEED...a need is a need, not an option. I am a little paranoid. Because we have a travelocity ressie, it took literally 6 phone calls and two emails to get the request put on our ressie (and, since I can't see the request, I hope I was told correctly). I already have my request printed out ready to fax.
     
  11. gipcrew4

    gipcrew4 Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    We here now. Can anyone tell me where the marshmallow roast is located and how late it runs? Thanks!
     
  12. DanInMN

    DanInMN Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Wow! That is very rude. My wife and I are going in a week with no kids (our kids are grown, and we have no exchange students this year). Disney is for the young at heart!
     
  13. Disney Diva Mom

    Disney Diva Mom Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Wow! Away for a couple hours and the new thread already has 3 pages!
     
  14. WyoMickey

    WyoMickey Earning My Ears

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Hi All,

    I am here, I am here, I am here.................. to quote the Who's down in Whoville.
     
  15. sibesx2

    sibesx2 Mouseketeer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    79
    We just returned from an 8 night stay at POR. We received all of our requests - ground floor in AB and we were upgraded to preferred building 15. Our room had a working fridge (worked too well, our milk froze solid!). We had no major problems with Magic Bands. The mugs however were a pain. I found that sometimes they worked and sometimes you had to try different stations to find one that worked. I asked a worker about the water wheel and was told that they would finish work today and hopefully it would be up and running Wed.

    The resort is beautiful and I loved sitting out at night and early in the morning. Busses were usually quick other than Friday evening when it took hours to get just about anywhere due to the Villains party. All and all we had a great trip!
     
  16. Backstage_Gal

    Backstage_Gal <font color=darkorchid>Let me rephrase the dog ste

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,424
    Oh no, I'm a cissy!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  17. lazer

    lazer DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Also, if you get there and don't have a fridge and need one...ask! I have a needy one year old and asked the probability of us having one for any of our stay, so I could figure out a plan. She said she'd put us on a list and 20 minutes later there was a knock at the door...fridge delivery!

    Also, busses back from downtown have been awful due to construction. Took us 63 minutes the other day (I couldn't stop looking at the clock).

    The CMs at the front desk have been amazing. We saw a few people with magic band sliders that say 2013 and glow in the dark. We asked at the desk and the awesome CM apologized profusely and have us each one.
     
  18. bumbershoot

    bumbershoot DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    48,441
    I've only been there once and we were in Royal Rooms, so we didn't see it all, but I'm going to say it's not as big as either of those.

    We ran out of points, and can't do anything at DVC (beyond 3 days booked in January) unless we want to borrow from 2015! :eek:


    That's terrible. I hate when fellow guests say rotten things. Happened to DH once in Anaheim and it still makes him sad.




    I am now thinking of not requesting an area. We have a standard room booked, and I already requested corner room. I was thinking I wanted to request the non-Royal Mansions, but then I started wondering if it might be fun to stay in the Bayou. There are just 3 of us and we booked a 2 Queen room (or at least we did not book a King room), so we could really end up in any non-royal, non-preferred area...

    Anyone care to sell me on a room either way?
     
  19. kaylasmom07

    kaylasmom07 DIS Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Wow part three! Riverside guests must be a chatty bunch ;)

    I'm glad this thread exists and is full of so many helpful people. Can't wait to stay there in just 58 days... 58!
     
  20. 1000HappyWishes

    1000HappyWishes I know every mile will be my worth my while.

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    528
    I've got to wait 208 days until I see this resort for the first time. It won't be my first on-site stay, but it will be the first one I remember!
     
  21. andrewilley

    andrewilley Port Orleans Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5,749
    Sadly that seems unlikely, we're on page three already and I only started the thread a few hours ago! Wowser...


    Yes, there's a button on the side of each Royal Room headboard. The lights run for about 30 seconds and then turn off again.


    We often arrive at 6-7pm (flying indirect from the UK) and unless the resort is at 100% capacity there's usually some wriggle-room in terms of room options. But better still would be to fax in a request about 3-5 days before you arrive, mentioning your later arrival time and concerns about room availability. See the first post, or www.portorleans.org/room-requests.php, for details.

    And even the furthest possible rooms are only about 500 yards away from the food court (see www.portorleans.org/faqs.php#Size).


    The water wheel should be up and running again very soon (maybe even today?).

    I think Disney was caught on the hop a bit with the Villains night, they had a lot more guests at the Studios than even they expected, and many people stayed right to the end at 13pm :) too. They do have enough buses to divert there, but I'm guessing suddenly getting extra drivers in once they realised there was going to be a problem at midnight+ might have been a problem.


    That is really awful, and so rude! I regularly go to the parks on my own, either because the girls have gone off on (another!) shopping trip or because I tend to keep going later in the evening than they do.

    I've have NEVER in 20+ years had anyone criticise me for being there on my own. To be honest (and I'm sorry family!) some of my favourite times at the parks have been later in the evening on my own. I can do what I want, when I want, stopping where & when I want, just soaking up the atmosphere and enjoying the peace and quiet. With a group in tow, there's always someone who needs a toilet break, or a drink, or snack, or wants to pop into a shop, etc.

    So if I were you, I would just feel very sorry for them trying to keep everyone happy at once, and enjoy myself! It's their loss, not yours!

    (Either that or wind up these inconsiderate people by saying that you are there to remember your beloved family who recently passed away in tragic circumstances and you are fulfilling their last request by going on this trip for them, and watch their faces)


    Medical necessities ARE being met, they are even moving fridges around the resort to make sure that happens. But you would be best letting them know in advance to make the planning easier. The $15/night credit is a discretionary thing being done as a Guest Service Recovery procedure for people who have pre-requested a fridge (for non-medical reasons) but not got one.

    It's not something anyone is entitled to, but they do seem to be doing it quite often. I guess they want it to be as a goodwill gesture for people who are genuinely upset about the lack of a fridge, rather than just because someone has read on the internet that there's an extra discount going - but as it's an exceptional thing rather than a general policy, I guess it could be applied a little unevenly.


    It's on Ol' Man Island, just next to the Pool Bar and the children's playground. The start time is usually around dusk (see monthly schedules) and it runs for about 90 minutes (until the outdoor movie time anyway). Not sure if the POR one is still closed for maintenance work though, they were ferrying people over to the POFQ campfire a few weeks ago.


    Don't worry, we'll let you off - I'm sure there are still some stragglers on their way over... :)

    Andre
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page