pop century night before cruise?

cmacf1

Mouseketeer
I am a total Disney World novice and so I know absolutely nothing about Disney resorts or downtown Disney or really anything that's in Kissimmee.

We're flying down the day before our cruise in January and we'll be landing at about 1 pm. THat leaves us all day to be in orlando. I had made reservations at a hotel close to the airport that offers a free shuttle. And we're getting a van service to take us to the port the next day.

I somehow found out that the Magical express is free and then my wheels started spinning and I thought it would be good to stay at one of the cheaper Disney resorts. My issue is that my curmudgeonly anti-Disney spouse (no flames please!!!;) ) thinks we'll spend a ton of money and there will be no place good to eat (what?!?!?!) How can I convince him? Will we be tempted to spend an arm and a leg? I really really really want to go to the scrapbook store at Downtown Disney -- that's my main motivation (plus friends of the kids will be there that night on the eve or our cruise.)

So that's my question: why should we stay at Pop Century instead of a hotel near the airport?? The hotel costs seem to be about equivalent, but we'd be spending a little more for the limo/van (which is considerably less with our group of 8 than the Disney bus to the port is.) Thanks for helping me convince my curmudgeon spouse (he is aware that a Disney cruise will have disney characters and will be totally Disney, so he's ready for that and has promised not to be a pain in the butt -- thank goodness he's otherwise quite lovable:) . Thanks!!!!